Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Just returned from Puerto Rico where we stayed in the mountains and my children discovered their love for tostones--these are exactly right! For people looking for the sweet plantains they have eaten in restaurants, sometimes called "maduros," make sure that you note that this recipe traditionally calls for green plantains and is not supposed to be sweet. If you want to make the sweet kind use yellow-brown overripe plantains. I made that mistake when I first moved to Miami!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
these are great with chimichurri sauce! it's made from parsley, cilantro, garlic, lemon, and oil. look up the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter, and it's fantastic. I tried a green plantain this time-- very subtly sweet, and, as another reviewer mentioned, great with garlic salt. I'm allowing another plantain to ripen, so I'll try the recipe that way as well. To mash the pieces, I put them one-by-one in between pieces of baking parchment, then put that in a wide, flat bowl, stacked another bowl inside of it, and pushed down a bit. I also liked the fact that this recipe didn't require a whole lot of oil, though I used an 8-inch stainless steel pan so the pieces would sit a little deeper in the oil. The finished product goes great with black beans and rice; I will definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These are awesome! I didn't use any water and my plantains were green. The trick is to hit them with salt the second they come out of the oil! I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
mmmm...I agree, don't need water and BUTTER is the way to go! I didn't add a spice at all and it was delish and just like I remember in Costa Rica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I always order fried plantains at the local Cuban restaurant, but they are completely different to how these turned out. Not sure how they prepare them but theirs are sticky and sweet, and kinda stick in your teeth. These were really dry and tasteless. Oh well, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
ABOUT THE WATER...the reason puertoricans dip in water is because we cut them up early while making the rest of dinner. When the plaintain sits in the kitchen it will turn brown after a while,so we put them in water salt, so it so it won't oxidize. It is not necessary if you are frying soon after you cut them up. The recipe says cut in chunks, but you SLICE the plaintain in 1.5 inch slices aprox. The oil should not be TOO high, just heat the oil a little above MED for 8 min before starting so it will be ready. Cook to soften them and then "squash" them flat and fry again. Oil and water don't mix, so dry them before frying, if you insist on water. Cast iron will get nice and black if you make tostones regularly. Sprinkle salt when done and serve with ketchup, garlic oil or top with garlic shrimp... there seems to be many other suggestions. I will try to post recipe for mofongo soon...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
778 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Follow the suggestions of LatinaCook, this lady knows what she's talking about. They are delicious. Just DO NOT put them in the water(unless you want your eyebrows and kitchen to burn up)! I served them with Oxtails w/ Gravy and Jamaican style Rice and Peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I love this recipe, thanks so much for posting it. I made this side for my boyfriend, who is from Puerto Rico, for dinner; he was shocked that I did them correctly. His family serves this side or appetizer with different meals and I love eating them. But this was my first time trying my hand at cooking them. A little hint, we lightly season the tostones with Adobo after frying- Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My husband is Puerto Rican and he introduced me to these when we went to San Juan. I loved them and had to make them. I use a press that we bought in Puerto Rico, but it is just as easy to use a bottom of a glass. I also salt the water that I soak them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States