Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Yum. So simple yet sooooooooo good! Best fried plantain I've had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Not so good. Perhaps it's just me and the fact that it's my first time making these. I'm not sure I can believe the nutritional analysis either. But when flattened they turned into messy dry starchy things and they didn't pick up the rest of the oil well- they were just a pile of mush. They looked and smelled good up until then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Well I had a bit of trouble with frying, removing, flattening and then re-frying. I'm not a co-ordinated person. BUT the plantains did come out good and made a nice side to the Puerto Rican meat patties we made from here. I gave it 4 stars only because for me, it is a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley B.
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I did not use any water. I also added garlic powder at the end too. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My first time making my own. Very tasty. I added a few drops of agave syrup. Yum. I suppose you could use sugar or honey too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Uses to much oil, try not covering it completly, taste sort of like french fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
So good, and a nice starch alternative. The photo has the plantains sliced regularly, but I like to slice them slightly on the bias so they are longer, and they look prettier on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My first taste of plantains and it was delicious!!! I probably used a plantain that was almost ripe because it had some black spots it just wasn't completely black. Definitely dry off the plantains after putting them in the water before you throw them in the oil. I sprinkled with salt the second they were done. What a yummy snack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Yummmmyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Just a few observations: 1. If you want to have a toston that is made like those in Puerto Rico you have to have green plantains (oh, and a plantain is not a banana. They are related, but are not the same. A plantain is much larger and thicker than a banana, even the plants are different). 2. The slices should be cut diagonally so the initial frying can cover the most area. 3. If you don't have a tostonera, a can or a plate can be used to squash the slice, 4. Once it is squashed it is put in salted water for at least 30 minutes, not just to prevent it from going brown, but to give the toston a very good salty taste. 5. Last you fry it until golden brown. 6. Some people make mayoketchup mix (mayonnaise mixed with ketchup) or olive oil with salt, lemon, and garlic or just sprinkle with garlic salt. Hope this has clarified some issues with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dariel Ruiz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States