Puerto Rican Meat Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
These are great appetizers! I have an aversion to cilantro and substituted spinach and WOW! With guacamole and salsa they were the hit at a dinner party I went to, where everyone brought something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
I really loved these, my husband who is Puerto Rican liked them but, he thought they were too saucy & greasy. That would be my fault be sure to drain beef REALLY well! Overall they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
These are Yummy! Husband really loved these. He couldn't stop eatting them and told me to make again. Thanks for sharing your family recipe Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
This was a different way to use ground beef. I liked the taste. The egg roll wrappers were so big, they needed more meat to fill. My picky husband liked this recipe. Required a long time to make for the mediocre results. I would use the meat portion in a plain corn taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
These are a big hit at our house. I usually roll these up eggroll fashion as I had problems with the wrappers tearing at first. Also makes them easy for the kids to eat. In addition to draining the ground beef well, be sure to have the oil hot enough when you start frying or they will soak up too much. [10/1/04] These are also really good using ground chicken instead of ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
These were great. Tasted alot like the inside of empanadas which are my favorite. Everyone loved them. I had to cut the cilantro in half. That was just way to much cilantro. I love cilantro but come on. and make sure the onions are chopped finely otherwise the taste is way different. I made that mistake the 2nd time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
this was very time consuming,however, i loved it- i tasted the meat before i wrapped it and found it to be a little bland-so, i added more garlic,basil, ect. The outcome was so good- my picky husband even loved it- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
this recipe works best when it is not egg roll wrappers that are used. Do it the old fashioned way, with spanish ingredients, like goya wrappers that come frozen and they will come out much better. seal the edges with a fork, .. it also tastes good with cheese tucked inside, or for vegetarians cheese, beans or broccoli..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Although this was very time consuming, my kids LOVED them!! I made a bunch and froze them for quick snacks & meals on the go. I also used some of the meat mixture tossed with noodles and sour cream the following night for dinner. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
good basic picadillo recipe. Use the goya yellow discs instead of egg rolls fold them in half, use fork to close them and fry! sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States