Puerto Rican Meat Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is a great simple Puertorican recipe. I added two packs of Sazon for that authentic taste. I omitted the bell pepper because my family doesn't like it. I think next time I will add a can of sliced black olives and also use only 1/2 a bunch of cilantro. I used the egg roll wrappers and wrapped them like egg rolls. They only needed to be in the oil for about 5 seconds each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
These were delicious! I could not find the Goya discs, so I used egg roll skins. They worked well. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
really enjoyed this recipe. pretty quick to make. my husband really enjoyed it he ate 4 in 1 sitting and they were pretty big. i did season the meat for flavor otherwise they would have been pretty bland. reminded him of his moms empanadas..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiMi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
EXCELLENT!!! I made a trial version of these for my sister-in-law's bachelorette party. They are so good. I made a few changes. I used one bunch of cilantro, and added seasoning salt, peeper, garlis salt and cumin to taste. I also took someone's suggestion about adding cheese. One warning: I didn't find it poosible to wrap 2 or 3 tablespoons of meat. I was only able to get 1 1/2 tbsp. Hopefully the ladies will love them like me and my wife did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stnic_ca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Compton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
we LOVED this!!! they didnt last long on the table!!! i followed the recipe, but used goya discs instead of egg wrappers,i will make these again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERTA08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These are good but didn't suit my husband's taste (what he's used to as a child). I also use the yellow discs instead and seal with fork and water. There was too much tomato paste. This is what I usally use instead, 1 1b ground meat, 1/2 diced onion, 1/2 diced green bell pepper, 3 crushed garlic cloves, 1/8 c. chopped cilantro, 1/8 c. sliced green olives, 1 tbs tomato paste, 1 pkg sazon, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Best rolls I ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
These were super. I used ground lean turkey instead of beef, no fat to drain and no greasy problems with the finished rolls. I added a can of drained black beans. I did use egg roll wrappers and made sure my oil temp was at the 360 specified. Husband and son liked them. The recipe made too many for us so I'll use again for a small gathering with margaritas, beer, layered dip etc... for a football game this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesakelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
good, but had to play with the second batch to get my husband to eat it. next time i might add a little cornstarch to the filling to stop the juice from ruining the fryer oil so fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Very good recipe. Thank you so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States