Puerto Rican Meat Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
It was time cumsuming but they were GREAT!! But being PuertoRican myself almost every dish HAS TO HAVE SA-SON! I added just one package of Sa-son with the onions and bell pepper to lock in the flavor. After I drained the meat I added Basil, Garlic Poweder, and Chili Poweder to taste! It was WONDERFUL!! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
These turned out very well. All of my boys, 18 months, 3 years, and 5 years, tried them and loved them. My neighbor smelled me cooking and stopped by to try what smelled so good! They both loved them too. We did not care for them as much plain, but dipped in sour cream and salsa, they were divine. We don't fry often, but next time, we will surely do this again. We used wonton squares instead of egg rolls. We have fun filling the squares with different cheese and frying them also. Those would compliment this recipe well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
good basic picadillo recipe. Use the goya yellow discs instead of egg rolls fold them in half, use fork to close them and fry! sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Although this was very time consuming, my kids LOVED them!! I made a bunch and froze them for quick snacks & meals on the go. I also used some of the meat mixture tossed with noodles and sour cream the following night for dinner. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
this recipe works best when it is not egg roll wrappers that are used. Do it the old fashioned way, with spanish ingredients, like goya wrappers that come frozen and they will come out much better. seal the edges with a fork, .. it also tastes good with cheese tucked inside, or for vegetarians cheese, beans or broccoli..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
this was very time consuming,however, i loved it- i tasted the meat before i wrapped it and found it to be a little bland-so, i added more garlic,basil, ect. The outcome was so good- my picky husband even loved it- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
These were great. Tasted alot like the inside of empanadas which are my favorite. Everyone loved them. I had to cut the cilantro in half. That was just way to much cilantro. I love cilantro but come on. and make sure the onions are chopped finely otherwise the taste is way different. I made that mistake the 2nd time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
These are a big hit at our house. I usually roll these up eggroll fashion as I had problems with the wrappers tearing at first. Also makes them easy for the kids to eat. In addition to draining the ground beef well, be sure to have the oil hot enough when you start frying or they will soak up too much. [10/1/04] These are also really good using ground chicken instead of ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
This was a different way to use ground beef. I liked the taste. The egg roll wrappers were so big, they needed more meat to fill. My picky husband liked this recipe. Required a long time to make for the mediocre results. I would use the meat portion in a plain corn taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
These are Yummy! Husband really loved these. He couldn't stop eatting them and told me to make again. Thanks for sharing your family recipe Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States