Puerto Rican Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Yep, THIS is coquito. My abuelo made it every Christmas for the parranderos-Christmas carolers who show up with guitars, guiros, drums and maracas at your house at 3 am, and won't leave til you feed them. Real coquito does NOT have eggs in it. It's just sweet milk, coconut milk, rum (dark or white, we're not that picky as long as it's Puerto Rican rum ;-) )and cinammon, just like this. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I love coquito, so I really really loved this recipe...I will definetly make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrellcat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Very good, thank you!! i love my coquito every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Nueva, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
i like it because there no eggs in pr eggs were used to raise chickens not make drinks,eggs are a corrupted version not original.my wife loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I think that other recipes that include egg yolk take the true taste of coquito. This recipe was rich and creamy, so far the best one I have ever made. I made this as a gift and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I've tried a few recipes and by far this is the best. I made it in 2009 and now in 2010.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I've made Coquito before and it was too sweet. I like this one because I can enjoy it better. I just made it and it was easy and good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy,peasy!! Came out great! I used Anejo dark rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I was so nervous at first to make this because of all the many recipes out there. With eggs, without, just 1 spice or many spices. I found this one to be easy and simple. I must say I did chage it up a bit but it still came out great! I may not be Puerto Rican but I know a good coquito when I taste it and thus one is spot on. Instead of the dark rum I used 1/2 a cup of coconut rum & 1/2 a cup of 151 rum. More kick but good flavors to hide it a bit. Because I didn't have get all of the right ingredients My second batch had 1 can of eveporated milk and 1 can of cream of coconut with the water, rum mix, cinnamon and pinch of salt. Still good but the first batch is better but combined, they are awesome! Thanks for the recipe. I'm going to be a coquito master, lol! But I'm serious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was delicious. Brought back very fond memories of my childhood when my Puerto Rican father made this special drink on Christmas Eve. It was the only time he would allow the kids to take a sip of an alcoholic beverage. I haven't had it in years, but it tastes exactly like what I remember. Very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States