Puerto Rican Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was delicious. Brought back very fond memories of my childhood when my Puerto Rican father made this special drink on Christmas Eve. It was the only time he would allow the kids to take a sip of an alcoholic beverage. I haven't had it in years, but it tastes exactly like what I remember. Very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Coquito I and Coquito II are the closest recipes to home (PUERTO RICO)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Yep, THIS is coquito. My abuelo made it every Christmas for the parranderos-Christmas carolers who show up with guitars, guiros, drums and maracas at your house at 3 am, and won't leave til you feed them. Real coquito does NOT have eggs in it. It's just sweet milk, coconut milk, rum (dark or white, we're not that picky as long as it's Puerto Rican rum ;-) )and cinammon, just like this. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Very good, thank you!! i love my coquito every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Nueva, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I boil 3 cinnamon sticks in 3 cups water. Let it cool. Then put cinnamon water in blender w/1 can evap milk, 1 can condensed milk, 1 can coconut milk and 1 tsp vanilla extract and Rum(I use Malibu Rum/coconut flavor). NO EGGS. Serve on the rocks and garnish w/ground cinnamon. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I love coquito, so I really really loved this recipe...I will definetly make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrellcat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe has been modified. It doesnt taste bad at all.I grew up making this special drink with my grandparents. Its suppose to be an eggnog. I normally use eggs, bacardi 151, anise,orange peel,coco lopez and a couple more ingredients. Hopefully i can post this recipe before christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I think that other recipes that include egg yolk take the true taste of coquito. This recipe was rich and creamy, so far the best one I have ever made. I made this as a gift and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Super easy and very good! I don't care for the egg-based coquito, so this was perfect for me. I added more water & rum to make it less creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I've made Coquito before and it was too sweet. I like this one because I can enjoy it better. I just made it and it was easy and good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States