Puerto Rican Coquito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I boil 3 cinnamon sticks in 3 cups water. Let it cool. Then put cinnamon water in blender w/1 can evap milk, 1 can condensed milk, 1 can coconut milk and 1 tsp vanilla extract and Rum(I use Malibu Rum/coconut flavor). NO EGGS. Serve on the rocks and garnish w/ground cinnamon. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Yep, THIS is coquito. My abuelo made it every Christmas for the parranderos-Christmas carolers who show up with guitars, guiros, drums and maracas at your house at 3 am, and won't leave til you feed them. Real coquito does NOT have eggs in it. It's just sweet milk, coconut milk, rum (dark or white, we're not that picky as long as it's Puerto Rican rum ;-) )and cinammon, just like this. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Coquito I and Coquito II are the closest recipes to home (PUERTO RICO)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I followed Brownie1's directions with a few changes: I boil 3 cinnamon sticks in 3.5 cups water. I want to end up with 3 cups of cinnamon water so I add a bit more to account for evaporation. Topped it off with water to get a full 3 cups. Let it cool. Then put cinnamon water in blender w/1 can evap milk, 1 can condensed milk, 1 can coconut milk and 1 tsp vanilla extract the first time. The second time I tried with coconut cream and it was a bit too sweet so I then added a can of coconut milk and it was PERFECT! With just the coconut milk it was a bit too thin but with both the milk and cream, it was thicker and delicious. You can leave as is so the kids can enjoy as well and add rum to individual servings for the adults. Def serve on the rocks. My mom (born & raised in PR and JUST came home from winter break over there) declared it PERFECT so this is how I'll be making coquito from now on. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I think that other recipes that include egg yolk take the true taste of coquito. This recipe was rich and creamy, so far the best one I have ever made. I made this as a gift and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe has been modified. It doesnt taste bad at all.I grew up making this special drink with my grandparents. Its suppose to be an eggnog. I normally use eggs, bacardi 151, anise,orange peel,coco lopez and a couple more ingredients. Hopefully i can post this recipe before christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was delicious. Brought back very fond memories of my childhood when my Puerto Rican father made this special drink on Christmas Eve. It was the only time he would allow the kids to take a sip of an alcoholic beverage. I haven't had it in years, but it tastes exactly like what I remember. Very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I love coquito, so I really really loved this recipe...I will definetly make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrellcat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
i like it because there no eggs in pr eggs were used to raise chickens not make drinks,eggs are a corrupted version not original.my wife loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I've made Coquito before and it was too sweet. I like this one because I can enjoy it better. I just made it and it was easy and good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coquito

This tropical version of eggnog adds a festive touch at the holidays.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States