Pudding Shots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
At the end, fold in a small container of Extra Creamy Cool Whip - don't whisk it! If you have only large boxes of pudding, just double the measurements of the other ingredients. You can stick them in the freezer so they taste like soft serve ice cream. Flavored vodkas create tons of flavor combination possibilities: Chocolate pudding w/ black cherry vodka Vanilla pudding w/ orange vodka Cheesecake pudding w/ cherry vodka Chocolate pudding w/ espresso vodka I'd love to see what other combinations people have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I rated this a good start but you left out a very important ingredient to make it set right. 1/2 of an 8oz container of cool whip is the right amount needed for this (size)recipe. I've tried many different drink versions. white russian using kahlua & vodka & van pudding. Mudslides are choc pudding, w/kahlua, vodka & any Irish cream. Appletini's use apple pucker, vodka & van pudding. Washington apple, apple pucker & whiskey, Buttery nipples, use butterscotch pudding , choc liquor, kahlua & ameretto. Tiramisu seems to be my friends favorite. Van pudding, kahlua & ameretto. You could also make the pudding & instead of making shots make it a trifle with lady fingers for the tiramisu & pound cake or brownies for the rest of the different puddings. Add layers of cake, pudding shot mixes & cool whip, repeat layers. Fruit such as strawberries & bananas can also be added. If you want to make virgin style use 2 cups of flavored international creamers instead of the liquor & the milk. It tastes just as good(like there is liquor in them) & no one will know the difference. The creamer actually makes it better. I use 1/2 creamer & 1/2 liquor. Since experimenting I no longer use milk at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
As others have noted - a tub of Cool Whip is also necessary for this recipe. I have used regular or Extra Creamy and both work fine! I've also used 1% milk and no taste difference. And I only use 3/4 cup of milk at that. I've never adjusted other amounts even if I've used larger box of pudding. Don't limit yourself to Irish Cream and Vokda for alcohol choices. Sub out the Vodka for things like coffee liqueur (like Starbucks) or even Gold Schlagger. Some combos that are fantastic: - Choc Pud + 1/2 c. Blackberry Schnapps + 1/4 c. Vodka -OR-- Choc w/ Caramel Chips Pud + 1/2 c. Caramel Baileys + 1/4 c. Starbucks Liquor --OR-- Oreo Pudding + 1/2 c. Reg Baileys + 1/4 c. Vodka --OR--Butterscotch Pudding + 1/2 c.Baileys + 1/8 c. Goldschlagger (it's too strong to use more) -- OR -- Pumpkin Pud + 1/2 c. Caramel Baileys + 1/4 c. Starbucks Liquor The sky is the limit on combinations!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I get request to make these as I have been making them for years. I only gave it 4 stars because the cool whip was not listed as an ingredient. This is a must. Just fold in one container after you are done mixing. Then, I freeze them overnight. They taste like spiked chocolate ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The recipe I have calls for the cool whip( a must)for a different flavor try tequila rose and strawberry cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Don't expect these to be like pudding.... they are a creamy shot, made to drink, not eat. This recipe is great because of the ratio of liquor to milk. I used instant Pumpkin Spice pudding, 1 cup milk, 3/4 C Butterscotch Schnapps and 1/4 C vanilla vodka, I also used 1 Tbls of Cinnamon Schnapps, and it tasted like pumpkin pie with a kick. We added a little whipped cream to the top before serving. They were gone in seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made these for New Years and the crowd LOVED them! I'm only giving this recipe a four star since you really need to add the Extra Creamy Cool Whip. The consistency is like ice cream. I made a batch of vanilla using vanilla vodka with Bailey's and a batch of chocolate using the same vanilla vodka and Kahula in place of Bailey's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I use 3/4 cup milk and 3/4 cup booze with the Cool Whip and it sets up fine. I use cream cheese pudding and raspberry vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I have been making these for years and made a total of 467 (4 different flavors) for 4th of July last year. The original recipe that I use is 1 sm pack choco pudding-3/4 c milk- 1/4 c vodka- 1/2 c baileys - 8 oz cool whip. Some people complained of this recipe being to strong and that is because you are using equal parts vodka/baileys and that's not correct. You can taste them as you are making them to add more alcohol. I always freeze mine overnight otherwise they get to runny to fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I rated it low stars because he forgot to list the cool whip as an ingredient. I followed the others advice and added an 8oz container of cool whip. Also I cut the milk down to 3/4 cup. I also used vanilla rum instead of vodka. I whisked the pudding mix, milk, rum, Irish cream together, then folded in the cool whip. Spooned it into 2oz shooter cups, it started to set even before I had all of it in the cups, then put it in the freezer to finish setting. It made 28 shooters. The rum has a smoother taste than vodka, not as much alcohol bite. It has the consistency of chocolate moose with the feel good effect of rum. I didn't use any name brands, except the Kraft Cool Whip, it was the off brand rum, instant pudding mix, milk, and Irish cream, but it was all good. Got rave reviews from the people at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pudding Shots

Vodka and Irish cream liqueur put a tasty turn on traditional Jello shots.

Sliced Watermelon Jell-O® Shots

See how to super-fun watermelon Jell-O shots. They’re cute with a kick!

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States