Pudding Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used two one ounce boxes of fat free sugar free vanilla pudding, following the box’s directions of adding 4 cups of milk total and yellow cake mix (prepared with apple sauce instead of oil) and completely skipped the sugar per others suggestions. I'm not sure what others mean that this was sloppy and hard to serve. Mine cut perfectly into squares (like a normal cake would) and maintained its shape, but I did refrigerate for over 2 hours to let the instant pudding set. This tasted so light and fluffy, next time I'm going to add a thin layer of chocolate frosting so it'll really taste like a healthy chocolate éclair!! Can’t wait to make again and actually serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made cupcakes instead...good concept, but if you're not prepared to pour the pudding and you wait too long- the pudding just sits on top of the cupcakes...so there's need to frost...I didn't use the powdered sugar so it's not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My best friend's mom gave me this recipe over 20 years ago and I've made it with rave reviews ever since. Super easy to make, and I always have the stuff on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I think this is a great cake for holidays for the kids, like St. valentines day, St. Pattys Day, Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Michigan, USA
Living In: Croswell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I was making a different recipe that needed egg yolks, so I had these egg whites? Light bulb 'white cake'. This is a nice dessert. Two of my sons favorites. Cake & pudding. I new this would be a hit. Made it just the way the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My husband asked me (at 9:00 at night) if I would make a 60th birthday cake for his friend at work. All I had in the pantry was a yellow cake mix so I strolled through the cake recipes on this site and saw that I had everything to make this cake. I made a yellow cake with vanilla pudding and chocolate pudding on top. I was concerned about putting the chocolate on top of the vanilla for fear that they would mix and turn out horrible. I mixed the chocolate until it was pretty much as firm as pudding and to my amazement I was able to actually spread it on like frosting!! I was not able to taste the cake but my husband said they raved about it!! The birthday mans wife called and asked for the recipe because her husband has made it his favorite cake!! This kind of reaction is what makes cooking such a joy for me! And whenever I get off of this stupid diet I am making this cake just for my family and myself!! My husband has already asked me to make another one because he loved it also! From thier reactions, I am going to have to give this cake 5 stars!! Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made this with the "Butter Cake" recipe from this site, and it was perfect! I didn't want the cake to be too heavy, and the pudding was a great way to balance out the texture. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I did not enjoy this cake. It tasted just okay and I would not serve it to guests. There are too many other wonderful recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was quite a tasty cake and a hit when we took it to a dinner party! I was a little nervous about pouring the pudding over the warm cake (and then refrigerating it), but I didn't need to worry! I used a yellow cake, 1 package of vanilla pudding, and frosted with chocolate frosting (melted/softened in the microwave, so it pours smoothly out of the can). It reminded us of Boston Creme Pie. I didn't use a wooden spoon handle because I thought the holes would be too big, but next time I will so the pudding is nice and concentrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States