Pudding Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I made this cake last night with choclate cake, banana pudding filler and choclate pudding for the top. It turned out pretty good. The kids loved it. I think I'll try it again and bring it to work. I work in a restaurant so plenty of critics there. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Twins4Us
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made some simple substitutions and made this for a low cal dessert for my family. I used reduced sugar yellow cake mix, made with egg whites, applesauce and water. I also used sugar free chocolate pudding for the topping. Then I topped it with a dollop of sugar free cool whip. My family had no idea that it was pretty healthy treat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twins4Us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I followed this recipe EXACTLY as written and the pudding was like brown school paste. Is there an error in the size pudding box? 3.9 ounce box is the large box and uses 4 cups of milk each, right? The small boxes use 2 cups of milk. The pudding had an unpleasant taste and could not be poured over the cake using 4 cups of milk and 2 boexs of pudding (3.9 oz. each) I hate wasting all that milk, eggs and oil. Will try again with 2 small boxes of pudding only because my daughter wants this cake for her birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used butter cake and chocolate pudding to top it with and fill holes. Pretty good, but cake is dry after being in fridge. Its okay, but nothing to rave about. I may try again with piping vanilla pudding into the holes and then cover with chocolate frosting or chocolate pudding after it sets. But overall just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
was so simple and quick! I used a white cake mix with pistachio pudding and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette Swain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Nice change and fun to make with my 3 y/o. After reading that you have to 'move fast' or the pudding concept doesn't work well, I decided to try and pipe the pudding into the holes, using metal decorating tip. Worked REALLY well and I made the Boston Cream version with fudge frosting on the top. Everyone was happy, frosting lovers and pudding lovers alike...looked lovely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTI68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this to take over for a potluck lunch with a few friends, and it was a hit. It was a good, simple recipe to make and uses what you probably already have in your pantry. I didn't have two packs of chocolate pudding so I filled the poke holes with chocolate pudding and then "frosted" with a box of vanilla pudding and 2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Ok. This is part 1 of 2 reviews....I absolutely HATE cake with sweeter than sweet frosting!!! So this cake sounded good, as did the Dump cake from another recipe on here. Since I couldn't decide which sounded better I'm combining the 2. Using Butter cake mix, mixing as directed on the box. I have dropped and "knifed in" cherry pie filling into it. When it's finished I'm using Chocolate pudding (same way as in this poke cake), and then will use the 2nd pudding to mix with cool whip to top the cake. Sounds yummy to me!!! Will post to tell you how it turns out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This cake is delicious!!!!!!! ANDDD IT CAN BE FAT FREE AND SUGAR FREE!!! Jus use the fat free, sugar free chocolate pudding mix.. and instead of using instant vanilla cake, make an angel food cake!! YUM YUMMMM :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletbunhead20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is so awesome, Ive made this cake for years like this:Cake, Pudding, and Cool Whip) But I never thought to poke the holes in the cake, Its Great! When I would make it the old way the cake was so tall it would just fall over when you tried to eat it, Now the kids love the strips and no mess for me!...I use straws to make the holes, the toothpics arent big enough and when you use a fork the puddin just blobs together...Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States