Pudding Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Oh my! This was awesome! I never have the ingredients for "regular" frosting on hand, so I was looking for a recipe that used the ingredients I had on hand. And I had "almost" all the ingredients for this except the unsweetened chocolate. I used a 1.4 oz. Aldi's brand dark chocolate bar for this and it worked out great! I made the black magic cake from this site, which uses coffee, so instead of the water called for in the frosting, I used coffee and...WOW! It really brought out the chocolate flavor! I made the cake in a bundt pan, and the frosting drizzled over the sides beautifully! It does make a lot of frosting for a bundt cake, but that wasn't a problem! I filled the middle up with frosting, and the little extra "pudding" you got with a slice was a great treat with the cake! Will definitely make this again as frosting...and as a quick pudding! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chriscookie1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was a really good change from typical buttercream. It was very runny to work with but thickened after a few minutes on the cupcakes. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Didn't change anything, but forgot to add the butter and it was still delicious,. Will be making this again. Made it for the Chocolate Zucchini III cake and was perfect for it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The flavor was good for me, but not chocolatey enough for my hubby. I also had some weird lumps in my finished product, which I'm sure was the cornstarch. Next time I might try mixing the cornstarch with the water really well, and then adding the remaining ingredients. Thanks for the recipe, it was just about perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Great frosting, but use boiling water and add to dry ingredients to speed up the cooking/thickening process
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Loved this recipe, it was so simple!! I used brown sugar and butterscotch chipits(had no white sugar or chocolate) The color was golden and it wasn't too sweet at all, just nice!! I love recipes from scratch and plan on using this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used this to frost Brookes bombshell brownies from this site. I looked Amazing but I wasn't to fond of the taste. I thought it was super sweet and not to chocolatey, I may try this recipe again...but with some adjustments to the sugar and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was awesome! I made it exactly as is, although next time I will decrease the sugar to 3/4 cup as it was a little too sweet for me. I could have eaten the entire bowl with a spoon. I used it to frost an angel food cake and it was the perfect consistency to drip down the sides. I also added some fresh raspberries and it was a total winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
If it takes long for it to thicken increase heat to medium, it thickens immediately after it starts boiling. I added the vanilla and butter from the beginning (misread the directions), and it still turned out delicious. It really has the consistency of a pudding, so you could use it for filling a cake too, not only for icing. Unlike other commenters, my husband found this to be a bit on the sweet side, so I would adjust sugar to your liking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This tasted okay, but it was a little sweet for me (I know that is easy to adjust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States