Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Takes a bit of work to get all the veggies chopped, but it makes an amazing meal! I usually serve it with cheese, sour cream and avocado on top with Premium saltine crackers or cornbread (or both!) on the side. Healthy and delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
So good over cornbread topped with avocado, sour cream & cheddar! We didn't have wine, so I used a tablespoon of baking chocolate. Great as a leftover days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Really good. Made it for a vegetarian friend and we both loved it. Used diced tomatoes and didn't have red wine (sadly). Amount of Tabasco was just right as I like chili medium spicy. I would definitely recommend including the mushrooms as they really make it hearty and "meaty". Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
We all loved this recipe it was delicious. The only changes I made was I used one can of back beans and one can of dark red kidney beans, I also did not add the water as it would have made it like soup. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great flavor and really hardy. Quick and easy to make, definitely a winner as far a vegetarian chilli is concerned. I'm thinking of cubing up an eggplant next time to give it a chunkier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich Hoffecker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I followed recipe to a T, but did a test taste before serving and found it to be somewhat bland. I added two tsp of Better than Bouillon and some smoked paprika. I cooked it a bit longer, and ladled it up with a bit of sour cream and cheddar cheese. It was then pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This chili is so good, you don't even miss the meat. It's the only vegetarian dish, in fact, that my boyfriend ever specifically requests and he's named this the second best chili he's ever tried (losing only to his brother's famous - and secret - meat-heavy chili). The only things I do differently was omit the celery (I'm not a fan of celery) and add a can of kidney beans. I've also tried it with dark beer instead of wine and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicja Wisniewska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this for NY day, and used 1 can black beans (drained!) and about a cup or so of black-eyed peas, to meet my southern tradition for New Year's. I think it's delicious, and very filling, but I found it to be too spicy, and I even cut down on some of the spices. I only used 1 tsp of cumin, not a tablespoon, and didn't have chili powder on hand so used a tsp. of paprika and tsp. of cayenne pepper instead. I only used a tsp. of salt, and one cup of water, because I like really chunky chili, not "soup" chili, plus the extra sodium is not needed! The consistency was perfect. Added a Tsp. of cocoa powder. Next time, I will just leave out the hot sauce to see if that fixes the slightly "too spicy" taste. I know some people really love spicy though! I also used red pepper, instead of green, as I don't care for green peppers. I garnished with some fresh sliced avocado and non-fat plain yogurt. Overall this is a great recipe and I will enjoy tweaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCulley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Excellent, and my kids loved it. Although it was a little spicy for my youngest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was delicious! I made this recipe with what I had on hand, and I am sure it would have been just as good has I followed the recipe exactly. I used 1/2 the oil it called for; a yellow bell pepper instead of green; didn't add the red wine; two 14 oz. cans of diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. whole; added 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes instead of the hot sauce; added an extra 1/4 tsp. sea salt. I used two cans of black beans (drained and rinsed) and it was very close to 3 cups. Everything else was the same. It was a thinner chili, so I simmered it for 45 minutes to reduce the liquid. We dipped corn tortilla chips in it and it was fabulous! Made a second time and we decided the celery is not needed. I would also like to try it without the tomato paste next time. I added some rice and ground beef and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States