Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
YES YES YES!!!! I am a meat eater and I did NOT miss the meat at all. This recipe ROCKS! Thank you for sharing. It will definitely go into my collection of recipes that will be repeated! I followed the recipe as written (except I used portobella mushrooms). This was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made it for a small (very) un-snobby art opening - I was surprised how good it was; the canned potatoes thickened the it and it really is more than the sum of its parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The only 2 changes I made was using 2 cans of roasted diced tomatoes and no wine since I didn't have any. I made it for a pot-luck at work and everyone loved it! I have ingrediants in fridge again and will be adding spinach and 3 cans of different kinds of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Great Chili. My Meat eating parents loved it, as did I. I used sliced portabella mushrooms instead of the sliced white, doubled the garlic and chili powder, added 1 tbs of dark honey, and a small sqaure of hershey's chocolate. Garnished with green onions, sour cream and tortilla chips...AWESOME!!!!! As A vegetarian, i have been looking for a hearty chili recipe and this exceeded my expectations....not to mention it is EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This came out amazing! Even my husband liked it and he's not keen on chili that doesn't involve meat. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Loved this! I did not add the hot pepper sauce but it was great anyway. We don't eat spicy food regularly so it was great for us without it. I will certainly make this again. The flavor was full and it felt like a hearty meal even without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I just made it for the second time, and I added jalapenos. Taking this to a chili cook off tomorrow, we shall see how those "meat-eaters" react. Not expecting to win, but this chili is sooo amazing (I followed the recipe exactly, well, minus the jalapenos)DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Delicious! This recipe is easily modified to your individual preferences. You can add any vegetables you like. The best chilli recipe I have ever tried. Everyone in our family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I've tried a lot of veggie chili recipes and this was just ok. The pot I used wasn't large enough to hold the third can of beans so I added less water. It was better the next day but not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I discovered this recipe about a year ago and have made it many times.. It is foolproof! This is my "go to" meal when I do not know what to make. It also freezes very well. The previous version did not have the added water in it, and I make it without the added water. I add red kidney beans & Chick peas (with their liquids)and recently cut-up broccoli florets - tastes great! My sister makes it for her sons' families. Has anyone tried this in a slow cooker (after sauteeing)?? A BIG THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States