Pub-Style Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was a big hit, even amongst meat lovers! Next time I make it, I think I will break the whole tomatoes up a little bit. Some of the chunks were too large to eat in a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
For a vegetarian chili, it was ok. I didn't fall in love with it, but my bf really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Just okay. I didn't change anything and found this recipe bland. I would recommend adding a couple of bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved it! Added extra celery and carrots in place of mushrooms, and used two 28oz cans of crushed tomatoes in place of whole tomatoes, tomato paste and water since I had the crushed tomatoes. Also added 2tsp. cocoa as others suggested. Will make again - my husband was a big fan, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was a very flavourful chili! I served it at a community lunch program to rave reviews. One downside, I found it to be very thin so I added cornstarch to thicken, and increased to spices to compensate for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Pond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have chili powder, but my addition of a few green chile peppers gave it a really nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I never thought I would try something different from my standard chili recipe I've been using for years, but when I found this one, I was happily surprised. I am not a big fan of tomato chunks, so I used one can of stewed tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce. I also added an extra can of chili beans, and chopped up a couple jalapeno peppers. The chili is so hearty, my husband doesn't even miss the meat! As others have said, I drained the liquid from the beans before adding them. I have made this twice in 2 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great. I've been looking for a good standard vegetarian chili and this will do me fine. I only made few alterations: less water (1 cup), less oil (3T), more celery (3 sticks), mixed the beans (a 14oz can each of black, pinto & kidney) and added one Thai green chili. Other than that I think it was as writ. I did use the bean liquid, which I think helps with the thickening. The chili powder I was using was quite powerful, so this came out plenty hot for me, but I'm about a 3/10 on the hotness ladder so chili-heads could use a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this!! If you want make the texture a little thicker, drain the black beans and it's amazingly like chili. My whole family (even those who aren't vegetarian) loved this. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Awesome chili recipe! I didn't have mushrooms so I used extra carrots, red, yellow, and green peppers. I also used both red and black beans. I love the Boil Maker chili recipe with the meat, but you will not miss the meat in this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States