Pub Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
These were ok, but I have to agree with others that said that these lacked flavor. For all the prominent components in the dish, it still felt that something was missing. The family ate them, but I most likely will not be making these again, tho I was glad to try something new. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I knew when I set out to make these that these chops were waaay too big, and I already had intentions of heating the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. That is, until I started eating it. So good I cleaned every bite and I confess without shame to picking it up with my fingers and gnawing on the bone to get every bit of it. Soooo tender, so flavorful, and I don't think the little bit of Montreal Steak Seasoning I seasoned them with or the chicken broth I substituted for the water were make or break additions. I'm confident that with bacon, garlic and white wine in the ingredients list I would have been happy with this just as is. I would just say watch the cooking time - I had relatively thick chops and simmering them for just several minutes, not 20 as indicated, kept them moist and tender and still cooked through. There are so many side dishes that would complement this (the gravy is excellent so buttered noodles immediately comes to mind) but I served this tonight with two other AR recipes, Spinach and Rice Alfredo, and Mushroom and Bacon Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I really don't get the comments about it not being flavorful but maybe that's because I altered the process a little. It's pretty automatic for me to caramelize my onions for a dish like this so that's what I did first after cooking the bacon. Next I browned the pork chops on one side. I added the garlic when I turned them. Now I made this with some thin pork chops that I happened to have on hand so by that time they were done and I pulled them. the only other change I made was using two pieces of bacon because 1 piece of the bacon I had did not make two tablespoons of grease. If you do something similar you should find it flavorful unless you find anything less flavorful than say buffalo wings bland. My only complaint (which I have often with recipes like this) is that I would've liked it to make a little more sauce. Not everyone likes things as saucy as I I'm sure. No problem next time I will double all the sauce ingredients! Thanks for sharing this we really enjoyed it. FYI it goes great with a beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was REALLY yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I loved this recipe and it's always been a hit with the family when I prepare it. This time I didn't have any bacon on hand, but I did have spicy sausage in the fridge. So I subed one pork product for another. Other than that, everything was the same. We love it and serve it over wild rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I made this last night and it turned out beautifully. The pork chops I used were quite thick so the cooking times were perfect. The meat was tender and juicy. I used red wine instead of white because that's what I had on hand. Next time I'm adding mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
the ingredients looked like this would be a easy flavorful dish. I only cooked the chops 5min on each side (recipe called for 10min on each side) and they were extremely overdone. The meat had virtually no flavor and the sauce, though tasty, was unappealing to the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Good stuff. Chopped bacon and sautéed in pan with onions. Left in pan while adding the chops. Only removed chops to make sauce, but added back to smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Not as flavorful as I would have hoped. Some changes I would make is to use a hearty red wine for the reduction,a little more bacon (2-3 slices chopped) and add some coarse ground pepper to taste in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States