Pseudo Sourdough for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I have made this recipe before, and it makes a good loaf of bread. Not too sourdough-y, but a good loaf of white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This is the perfect recipe for bread in the bread maker. So easy and turns out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Callihan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was very tasty for a quick recipe and for what I had on hand. I did have to substitute AP Flour for Bread Flour...which probably made for a denser loaf...but still yummy. Althought next time I will make sure to use bread flour. The only hint I have - I didn't have time to wait for sour cream to come to room temp. So, I used very hot water, wisked the sour cream with it, tested the temp and it was perfect...plus, I think it made the bread combine quicker. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
The bread came out fine, but didn't taste like sourdough one bit, more like a regular white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
this bread turned out beautiful and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. I used all bread machine flour because I didn't have any barley flour either. I also used low fat sour cream. Honestly you couldn't tell the diffence. Also, after the first kneading and rise, I added one small onion chopped up to the bread machine and let it work into the loaf on it's own. It made the house smell wonderful and gave the bread an absolutely fabulous taste. I am so impressed with this recipe. You have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Terrific recipe. Had to use all bread flour as didn't have barley flour or potato flakes and also used fat free sour cream. Bread still came out beautifully fluffy and tastily tangy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This baked perfectly in my bread machine. Very soft and fluffy inside. I used all bread flour since I didn't have barley flour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I'm going to try some variations like adding caraway seed, or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Great bread! Was a little sweeter than the typical sourdough, but a great bread. I used fat free sour cream and added fresh minced garlic and fresh rosemary to the dough - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States