Prune and Raisin Filled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
WONDERFUL!!! Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a great recipe to use up some prunes I've had in the pantry. I actually swapped the amount of prunes and raisins in the recipe to use up my prunes, but it came out very nice. I think the directions could have been a little more clear when explaining the dough and how to fill it, some inexperienced cookie makers might get confused. The lemon glaze was my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I thought these could use some more filling -- mine is a little sparse looking compared to the photograph. This was otherwise very straightforward and easy to do. The dough was simple to work with. I made a half-batch but used the entire quantity of icing. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
It was just okay. Not that I didn't like it, but nothing too spectacular. But maybe that's because I put less sugar. I made orange glaze instead of regular icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These were good but for my taste, next time I'd like to increase the raisins and decrease the prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was an odd and very successful recipe. Fun to make and felt like something my grandmother would have made - in a good way! I am looking forward to using other fillings. it made plenty of loaves, great texture, easier than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
My new favorite cookie! I'm not Italian or from RI, but these are great. Amount of filling is good, but I liked it just as well with half. More cookie-like with half the filling, almost a fruit bread as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was too yummy for words and will be on every cookie platter I ever make. Will def double or triple the prune/raisin mix next time. Only lightly brushed the top with the lemon juice/sugar mix. Found it easy to make and really easy to eat!! Got thumbs up from everyone. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. My grandmothers would be so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Enjoyed these very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Here's a good way roll out the dough and form the logs: Wet your counter top, then put down a large piece of saran wrap. Flour the wrap, and roll out the dough. After you have spread the filling on the dough, use the saran wrap to fold the dough over. Just lift by two corners, fold, and then peel off the wrap. Do the same for the second fold. To get the log on the cookie sheet, put the cookie sheet on the counter next to the log, bunch the saran wrap under the log on the side next to the cookie sheet, ease the saran wrap and the log over onto the cookie sheet, and roll it off the saran wrap. This works beautifully. I got a decent-tasting cookie, but I had never had these before and didn't know what to expect. The directions bewildered me in a few places. I may try these again now that I have done a trial run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States