Prune and Olive Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! I used a full chicken cut-up as I believe the bones add to the flavor when long cooked. No doubt I was correct as the juices flowed when we took it out of the oven, flavor, flavor, flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I only marinated for a few hours, but it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was so delicious! Definitely my new favourite way to make chicken. Try using the garlic stuffed green olives for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I had this with brown rice. Next time I will not use any oil since the chicken exudes a lot of fat. My chicken didn't brown right, so I'll leave off the brown sugar too which made it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was a great change from the usual. It doesn't seem to keep well for the next days lunch. You'll enjoy this the most the night it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I like - S and K not wild -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplyjayce
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good blend of ingredients, cooking it @ 350 deg for 1 hour is not enough to make it tender-- with the rack in the middle of the oven, give it at least 1.5hrs, if you want it more tender, maybe an extra 15mins. add a good amount of salt, i used 1 tsp but it's lacking a pinch at every bite. don't disregard this recipe so easily, my husband devoured 3 servings of it, and he's been on a strict diet prior :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I was expecting something more special. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I don't like prunes, so I used raisins. I marinated it overnight in a plastic bag so it would absorb more of the flavor, rather than just in the dish. What I am going to try differently next time is reducing the wine mixture quite a bit after baking. Because it's so thin, it's hard to appreciate the flavor, since it doesn't really stick to anything. Aside from that, it's absolutely delicious, and I'm definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I had seen this recipe in The Silver Palate cookbook years ago, but I could never figure out how to decrease the amount of servings and maintain the flavor. I am so glad that Teresa did the work for me! All my husband could say was WOW...and I thought to myself, enough said. The next time I will increase the amount of prunes, olives and capers, so we have enough to share as my husband hoarded all the olives this time. Thank you again Teresa for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States