Prosciutto Wrapped Melon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this for Christmas Day and everyone raved about it. I don't have a melon baller so I just cut chunks of Honeydew Melon and Rockmelon. I placed a piece of fresh mint on each chunk of melon and wrapped in the prosciutto. As it's summer time in Australia at Christmas it was a perfect refreshing appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I have made these several times and have never been disappointed. Plus, they are different enough to impress others with their appearance and contrast in flavors. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I used the mint only as a garnish and secured the proscuitto with a tootpick. Also, used a combination of cateloupe and honeydew melon balls. Loved the sweet/salty combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
As I was just making this for my lunch today, I didn't bother at all with fancy presentation; I just sliced up the melon, roughly diced the prosciutto, and tossed them together with a light sprinkle of 'Lemon-Mint Vinegar.' It was so delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I had this at a gathering and just HAD to look up the recipe. I actually had it with cantelope. WONDERFUL! I will be making this as an appetizer when I have guests over. YUUUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
One of my personal favorites. I use cantaloupe and drizzle with a balsamic reduction. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a dish I was often served in my 3 years living in Italy and I have to say never did they use mint... but it was interesting. I tried some mint on one and decided to leave it out. Superb after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I have enjoyed prosciutto melon balls many times, but this is the first time with fresh mint. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delicious! We chopped the mint very finely and tossed it with the lime in with the melon (used cantelope). Got lovely prosciutto di Parma which was less salty than others, and had a subtle rich flavor. Trimmed off fat. Followed another users advice and made a balsamic reduction into which we added ground anise, black pepper and a little chile oil for a slow and surprising heat to counter all the sweet. Then, to continue with the Meditteranean theme, served alongside of Black figs paired with a locally made goat cheese (very delicate and chewy without the pungent goat flavor) and homemade crispy sweet potato fries. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoshgollyMissMolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It's easy and feels gourmet. I don't even use a melon baller. I just cut out pieces of melon, sprinkle with lime juice, wrap with prosciutto and then put a small mint leaf under and secure with a toothpick. I may try to slice the melon thin and make it a roll one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States