Prosciutto Wrapped Melon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I used the mint only as a garnish and secured the proscuitto with a tootpick. Also, used a combination of cateloupe and honeydew melon balls. Loved the sweet/salty combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this for Christmas Day and everyone raved about it. I don't have a melon baller so I just cut chunks of Honeydew Melon and Rockmelon. I placed a piece of fresh mint on each chunk of melon and wrapped in the prosciutto. As it's summer time in Australia at Christmas it was a perfect refreshing appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I tried this recipe for New Year's Eve. The preparation was easy (although it took longer than I thought to cut the proscutto and wrap the melon balls) and the taste was good but by the time I served it to my guests it had gotten soggy even though it had been in the fridge. I would suggest serving this asap after preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
As I was just making this for my lunch today, I didn't bother at all with fancy presentation; I just sliced up the melon, roughly diced the prosciutto, and tossed them together with a light sprinkle of 'Lemon-Mint Vinegar.' It was so delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I too loved the sweet/salty juicyness! I cut my prosciutto into 3 skinny strips (lengthwise) & used just one strip per ball but I think it was still too much prosciutto. I think next time I will cut some off of the length of it (it won't go to waste...I'll add it to a sald or something) & leave just enough to wrap. I chopped the mint & added it to the lime juice...using toothpicks to secure the prosciutto. I also used the larger end of the melon baller & wish I had made smaller balls. Mine were a little big to just pop in your mouth. I want to try this again as a side salad & not as an appetizer... I'll follow Caroline C. & chop the prosciutto instaed of wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I made this with West Texas "Pecos" catelope instead of honeydew and it was sweet & juicy wrapped in a suprememly salty layer of the prosciutto. The color combo was also eye-catching with the sprig of mint topper. A very elegant beginning at my upscale picnic. Served with shrimp filled croissant sandwiches & wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTAHMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I didn't have a melon baller so I attempted this with a spoon and it didn't work out quite right. It was easy enough to wrap it with prosciutto and stick a toothpick through it. The taste was great, two completely different tastes: spicy and sour so it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta's Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a dish I was often served in my 3 years living in Italy and I have to say never did they use mint... but it was interesting. I tried some mint on one and decided to leave it out. Superb after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I have made these several times and have never been disappointed. Plus, they are different enough to impress others with their appearance and contrast in flavors. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Lovely sweet and salty flavor, Colors look lovely together and was unique on the appetizer tray. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States