Prosciutto Wrapped Melon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I just recently had these at a very fancy wedding. They served them for cocktail hour. My daughter's birthday party is coming up and these are on my list for the appetizers. Only change is the ones I tried were tarts. The little mini pastry tarts, that you can buy frozen at the grocery store, with a slice of imported prosciutto and a melon ball on top! They were absolutely divine and refreshing! The flavor contrasts were juicy, salty and with a bit of a crunch from the tart! 5 stars in book! I suggest only using imported prosciutto and not to put too much on them. You want it to equal flavors with the melon and not over power it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It's easy and feels gourmet. I don't even use a melon baller. I just cut out pieces of melon, sprinkle with lime juice, wrap with prosciutto and then put a small mint leaf under and secure with a toothpick. I may try to slice the melon thin and make it a roll one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I have enjoyed prosciutto melon balls many times, but this is the first time with fresh mint. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mallmagician
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
With Prosciutto Ham being so expensive here in Thailand where I live, I didn't want any to go to waste. So rather than wrap each melon ball individually, and maybe not get to use the little bits of ham leftover, I used Bamboo skewers to make Prosciutto e Melone Kebabs! I uploaded my picture. I think it looks great, for a first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delicious! We chopped the mint very finely and tossed it with the lime in with the melon (used cantelope). Got lovely prosciutto di Parma which was less salty than others, and had a subtle rich flavor. Trimmed off fat. Followed another users advice and made a balsamic reduction into which we added ground anise, black pepper and a little chile oil for a slow and surprising heat to counter all the sweet. Then, to continue with the Meditteranean theme, served alongside of Black figs paired with a locally made goat cheese (very delicate and chewy without the pungent goat flavor) and homemade crispy sweet potato fries. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoshgollyMissMolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I love these but you need GOOD prosciutto! If it is too salty it ruins the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
One of my personal favorites. I use cantaloupe and drizzle with a balsamic reduction. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I don't like it with honeydew melon. Tried it with the cantaloupe like others suggested. So yummy. Guests gobbled them up. You can really play with the presentation. I do a melon ball with a prosciutto bundle on a tooth pick or just sliced in cubed and wrapped in the prosciutto. Minus the honeydew i would give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
A bumped-up version of a classic breakfast recipe I've had in Germany a few times. Pretty good. It's been well-recieved the couple times I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
If I ever make these again I will use imported prosciutto. I didn't care for the taste of the Boar's Head. Great appetizer for an Italian themed dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States