Prosciutto Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I thought I'll try the recipe as is to see how it tasted. Prosciutto by itself is way too salty so no need to add more salt as some of the comments below suggest. Really mince the garlic. Definitely ricotta by itself with spinach is just way too bland. I think I need to try again with some mods including adding feta, black pepper and perhaps even using pepperoni instead of prosciutto - so basically a whole new recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Instead of mincing the garlic, try grating it. It mixes into the cheese much better. Also, I like the idea of adding Parmesan cheese salt and pepper. I would also mix in a good Gorgonzola cheese as well. It would give it that nice little tang it needs. An easy go to appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madlyn Cole
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this for a New Year's Eve party. Delish! Of course it's salty - prosciutto turns salty was naked, fried, whatever. In fact it's always salty. That's what makes it delish. That's why you don't add salt to the cheese !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These were a hit for our Christmas dinner as an app. I added parm to the cheese mix and they tasted so good. They took a lot longer in the oven to crisp up. Might of been putting two trays in the same oven. Might invest in silicone cups to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Fantastic! Very easy to make. I read thru all the other comments and incorporated all the suggestions from everyone else & it was a masterpiece. In addition to the original recipe, I added feta, parmesan, chive & onion flavored cream cheese, salt, cracked pepper & nutmeg. I had trouble finding fig sauce on short notice, but substituted drizzling honey on the tops & it was a hit! The baked prosciutto salty & sweet honey was absolutely divine. My mind races with all the different combinations I can try. Can't wait for another opportunity to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very easy. I made these in 5 minutes and just let bake. We tried them for breakfast and I made them in regular muffin pans--I had prosciutto to use up, but it's very long and wide and 2x the size of normal prosciutto (that's Costco for you) so I would've have to slice it and didn't want to deal with it. So I made about 6 of these cups and put in cheese and egg in the remaining prosciutto cups, then baked at 350 for a half hour. Really good! This was a nice breakfast, and the eggs worked perfectly too. Now I have breakfast for the rest of the week, always a bonus! I did add some bacon and some seasoned salt to the prosciutto cups--tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Loved the concept of the prosciutto cups....I often use wonton wrappers as cups, but one of our dinner guests was allergic to gluten, so this was an ideal solution! I used an alternative filling of low-fat mayo, chopped artichoke hearts, a tad of minced garlic + some feta. Rather than parmesan (which would only make it saltier), I stirred in some shredded mozzarrela. These were a hit! Next time, I'll add some diced sun-dried tomatoes & italian seasoning. Be sure cool sufficiently prior to serving. Thanks for this versatile & creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Used half feta and half ricotta and a bit of parm. as cheese mix and a bit of salt and pepper. Add the garlic to the ricotta to blend easier. Used less spinach than called for and only need about 1/2 lb prosciutto for 24 cups. They were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was an easy and delicious appetizer!!! I used chopped creamed spinach to add extra flavor and black pepper! Huge hit among friends, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We only had 1/4 pound of prosciutto, but we still were able to make 16, other ingredients were exactly as listed (we used fat free ricotta). It was absolutely delicious! The filling balances out the saltiness of the prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

All about Prosciutto

Learn all about this salty cured ham.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States