Prosciutto Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was great to me because I took some other reviewer's advice and added different cheeses to the filling. I bought expensive Boar's Head Prosciutto sliced sandwich style and made 24 mini-muffin cups full and had PLENTY of prosciutto left. So I may only get about a half pound next time. The cups were a little difficult to make, but if the meat starts falling apart, just shove it in there. It seems to hold its shape well after baking. I mixed 1/2 cup of ricotta w/ 1/2 cup of feta a bit of parmesan. I used all 10oz of a frozen spinach package so mine was REALLY spinachy. I would recommend mixing the garlic in with the ricotta to get an even mix. The garlic kind of stuck in one corner after mixing and left some bites a bit TOO garlicky (if that is possible :)) the end product was good. It was a nice low carb addition to the gathering. It went really well with red wine. It also was very good cooled down or hot. It reheated well the next morning in the microwave for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I like others found the filling bland and the proscuitto too salty after it was cooked. I was convinced it would balance each other out, but the taste just wasn't there for me. I added fresh grated parm and lemon zest to the ricotta. Overall disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I could not get my head around the way the prosciutto was to lay in cup. I ended up using ham also because the prosciutto was to salty and still no taste to recipe cheese mixture. Sauted spinach and garlic to help flavor appetizer Added flavored goat cheese, etc. Changed recipe 3 times but the end product was not to my liking. Guests were not impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I want to rate this as 4 and a half stars. losing a half star for the filling. I have too many family members who will not eat Gorgonzola so I added Parmigiana Reggiano, nutmeg and cracked pepper to kick it up. Still a little bland, but a good offset to the Prosciutto. I used low fat ricotta, but then it seemed to dry so I added one egg yolk. Will make again and maybe try a cheese/mushroom stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very good. For those of you who think it is too 'bland', try adding blue cheese instead of ricotta. Makes a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious! I did add Parm. Cheese to the mix, but this was fast and easy! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this recipe without any changes for a holiday party and everyone gave rave reviews. I thought the filling could use a little boost, so next time I will mix in a little cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made these as an appetizer for Thanksgiving and the whole family loved them. I took the advice of other reviewers' and added black pepper, parmesan cheese, and nutmeg to the ricotta/spinach filling. We loved how the proscuitto cups held the filling. You could be really creative in what you used to fill these cups: for example, mushrooms sauteed with balsamic vinegar and mozzarella cheese, etc. A beautiful appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Using ideas from other reviews, I added some cracked black pepper and a bit of parm to enhance the flavor. I even plan to use the leftover cheese/spinach mix in lasagna roll-ups this weekend. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made these for Easter Dinner with my family. As the least experienced and least adventurous cook, I earned an elevated cook status from my mother and sisters. They loved the Prosciutto Cups and how elegant they looked. I found them quite simple to make and was surprised how easily they can out of the muffin pan. I might experiment by adding something to the top it with...something with a punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

All about Prosciutto

Learn all about this salty cured ham.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States