Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Pretty good. Will probably make again, but with more vegetables. Also, turned out a bit greasier that I'd like (and I tried to drain the grease before putting the meat mixture in the baking dish). Definitely use lean ground beef for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
loved it!! Easy and cheap to make and very filling. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste and I didnt have italian seasoning so i just sprinkled in a few spices from my cabinet such as oregano and thyme..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Cottage pie is actually made from beef, Shepherds pie from lamb and a Meat pie has a crust and the meat is usually pork. As a Brit, my husband found this to be untraditional and didn't care for it. As much as I hate to say it, this pie shouldn't wow you with all kinds of flavor. The blandness is the appeal, really and why it is considered great comfort food. Generally, the only spices in it are parsley, thyme, S&P and that's about it. Adding worcestershire sauce is a must and that gives it some more flavor. I always caramelize my onions in my Cottage pie, so I did it here. Note, the carrots should be diced, not chopped and it helps to steam them for a few minutes in a saucepan of boiling water - otherwise they might not get cooked. I also add frozen peas, which is a must. Cheese is a nice addition, but whenever I use it, I grate mine and fold it into the potato, not layer it on the top in a greasy lake of baked cheese. My mother in law doesn't use the cheese at all, but instead pours melted butter over the top before baking, then adds a shake or two of paprika for color. I also use Bisto gravy for a more authentic flavor. Packaged American gravies just aren't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is great!! A bigger pie plate would be helpful (I even used a 9.5 inch one). My stove got a little spattered. I didn't have Italian seasoning, so like another reviewer, I used some generous shakes of garlic powder, basil and oregano. I used 1 tbsp dried parsley instead of fresh, 1 tsp beef bouilion with one cup water instead of the beef broth, and 1 tbsp ketchup instead of the tomato paste. I used 1 cup of milk in the potatoes, as directed, which made them very runny going into the oven. However, after 25 minutes baking, they were great!! I also sauteed and simmered the beef mixture for a lot longer than the directions indicated--I was trying to make dinner and get my 15 month old to eat something at the same time--it makes everything take longer. So... great dish! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a good recipe. I don't understand where anyone came up with the idea that a pie crust is called for... the recipe states a 9" pie PLATE, not CRUST. Also, you can purchase tomato paste in a tube that you keep in the fridge, so when a TB is called for, simply squeeze out that amount, and save the remaining tube. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Had Cottage Pie for the first time in Ireland.This recipe was very good, but different. In contact with the person who made it in Ireland. Trying to get her recipe. May have been the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My husband was BEGGING for some Cottage Pie and this is now his favorite thing that I make (he actually said that!). The only changes I made to the meat mixture were to use ground Turkey instead of beef (being easy on the wasitline), substitute Thyme, Rosemary, Oregano, and Basil on their own rather than in the form of "Italian seasoning" (1/2 tsp of each and it was the perfect amount), and added 1/2 cup of frozen (or you could use fresh) peas. I used skin-on red potatoes and added a little fresh chopped garlic during the whipping process. Other than that I followed the recipe as written, and it was absolutely divine ;) My British friends were even impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbcampbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
people please read carefully. It says put into a pie plate not into a pie crust. otherwise the other comments and suggestions are worthwhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Delicious and easy! Changed a few things: I used 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1 1/2lbs of lean ground beef, a splash of worchestire--it was a beautiful blend of spices!!Recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very nice dish! The cinnamon is a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States