Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
A tasty, hearty meal. I made as directed and it came out just right. Just like Granny used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is an EXCELLENT recipe; and, I didn't change a thing. I made this for my fella (who is English)...and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I think it could do with a touch of sweetness (peas or corn), but otherwise excellent. The herbs really brought out the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! I noticed people said the potatoes were runny? I add very little milk to my potatoes at all, ever. This recipe I just whipped the potatoes with a hand mixer, and added the butter, no milk. I also substituted corn starch for the flour for my own dietary need. The end result was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Incredible Recipe! Due to some missing ingredients I had to make a few changes.. 1. I used 85/15 Ground Turkey instead of Ground Beef. 2. I used cornstarch/water mixture instead of flour. 3. I used a little less beef broth with some tomato ketchup instead of the tomato paste. 4. I added a little of some fresh thyme. 5. I used fresh grated Asiago, which was concealed in the potato color on top, instead of shredded cheddar. 6. I added some garlic powder to the potato mixture. This was delicious, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Family loved this -- I did make some minor changes -- I omitted the cinnamon and in place of the beef broth used water and brown gravy powder and worcestershire sauce, and as other reviewers suggested instead of tomato paste I used ketchup and added peas towards the end of cooking in the skillet. I made the potatoes as I normally would and used low-fat cheese on top. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Didn't change a thing about this recipe and it turned out GREAT! My husband and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband loved this one-dish dinner. The cinnamon adds an excellent flavor to the beef, much as cloves do for pork. Instead of serving with peas, I put the peas in with the carrots, and used raw maple-smoked cheddar on top. This was really a great, filling meal. Definitely plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family loved it...I usually make a very plain sheppards pie. This was very well received. I made my standard mashed potatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I tweaked this recipe to my own tastes (I hardly ever follow any recipe exactly). I added a little more cinnamon than the recipe calls for and it wasn't overpowering at all. I also added some hot madras curry powder, cumin, garlic powder, worcestershire sauce, 2T extra tom. paste, and red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. Like some have suggested, just make the mashed potatoes the way you like them. It's not necessary to follow the recipe's measurements or methods. I tweaked the mashed potatoes by adding crumbled bacon and cheddar cheese to mine. I doubled the entire recipe and filled two 9x9 deep dish store-bought pie crusts. I didn't realize at the time that the crusts were lightly sweetened, but they actually enhanced the overall character of the dish, giving it a delicately sweet, very savory flavor with a nice kick. While my end product may not be considered "proper" by cottage pie purists, it was definitely fantastic and will become a regular on my dinner table. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States