Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a lovely adaptable recipe that can incorporate ingredients one may have on hand. Today, I had a large piece of roast beef to use so I tried it in this recipe. I also added frozen peas to add to the veggie content and some cubes of frozen garlic scapes (because we grow garlic)! The suggested spicing was perfect for us - spicing, of course, should be to one's individual taste... With ground beef, this recipe will take me back to holidays in Britain when we had cottage pie in pubs quite a bit! This is a lovely dish and I will be making it again. Like so many good recipes, the results will always be different - depending on what we have... Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I tried this recipe and served it at a luncheon for 8 today. Very well received and absolutely delicious! I liked the idea that I could prepare it yesterday and bake it today.I added cooked (from frozen) peas to this to add the vegetable quota and served it with pickled beets. Since it was all done a day in advance, all I had to do was pop it in the oven. That way I could enjoy my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was great! I added a can of peas between the meat and potato layers (because I like peas) and doubled the cheese (because I LOVE cheese). I'm not sure why everyone is griping about pie crust. It says to put it in a pie TIN. It says nothing about crust. I just did the whole process in a cast iron skillet, though. Stove to oven, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
for lower glycemic index use turnip instead of potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Perhaps I didn't add enough salt and maybe there was too much cinnamon, but I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I followed this very closely (except where I got lazy with measurements), and it was AWESOME! I know the cinnamon sounds crazy, but it adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe. I used beef cubes in place of ground, but otherwise made as directed. Soul comforting dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was Awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious made as described!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
As written this recipe would not work for me because I did as other reviewers and had a decent 'pie'. Still something is missing for flavor and the meat came out tough. Well, one day I had left over meatloaf. I crumbled it up, did the recipe--with the changes suggested-- all over again and it was fabulous. The meat was tender and held together when I cut into the flavorful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States