Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
The cinnamon definitely needs to be in there. When we made it you could smell that cinnamon, but when you ate it, it was just yumminess. Depending on how much extra onion/carrots you add, you may need larger than a pie plate, but ours fit perfectly into our nine inch pan. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The kids and the hubby absolutely adore this recipe. I have made it twice now and the leftovers don't last long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Family loved this. Leftovers are really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is like a shepherd's pie, though I thought it was a little better. As recommended by others, I substituted ketchup for the tomato paste, added 1 TBLS. of Worch. sauce, decreased the milk to half a cup and decrease the cinnamon to a quarter tsp. I also added corn on top of the meat and flavored the meat with a few TBLS. of minced garlic. I substituted one of the potatoes for a parsnip..you couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
this is good but I gave it 4 stars because the cinnamon is a bit too strong, the next time I make this it will be with less cinnamon and maybe some garlic sauted with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
It's a pretty good recipe. But these changes HAVE to be made to make it better: 1) Reduce milk to 1/3 cup. 2) Instead of measuring out the cinammon, just sprinkle it over the meat is more than enough. 3) Sprinkle just a tablespoon of breadcrumbs over the Cheddar cheese for more dept in the texture. Other than that it was good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is the first cottage/shepherd pie my husband didn't add ketchup to! It was yummy. Don't omit the cinnamon. Next time I will grate the carrots as they were a bit underdone. More salt is required than recipe calls for - I added garlic salt. Just keep tasting it til you like it. Add more beef broth if you like a moister one. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I made this will slighly over a pound of ground beef and 4 large russet potatos. I absolutely NEEDED a 9 by 13 inch casserole dish! It would have certainly boiled over in a pie dish or an 8 by 8 dish. This recipe turned out wonderful! I changed the recipe a bit because I was just using ingredients I had on hand. I didn't use carrots, used chicken broth instead of beef, and used 1 tbsp dried parsley instead of fresh. I also used the full amount of milk and would do it that way again, although it would probably be fine with less. I used the full amount of cinnamon, and hardly noticed it. It didn't seem "overpowering" at all. I also added garlic salt to the potatos for more flavor. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylvrFlwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I did not care for the flavor, all I could taste was the italian seasoning even after I finished the meal. The carrots were raw and I even cooked them longer than recipe called for. The potatoes only needed about 3 Tbsp of milk, not the cup it called for. And I wish I would have put the cheese on the meat and under the potatoes. I won't be cooking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States