Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Awesome recipe! I didn't use enough potatoes, but will the next time. Make sure that the four potatoes you use are big, if not, use like six. My 12 year old son woke up at midnight to get some water and couldn't resist the smell of this dish, and ate the leftovers I was looking foreward to for my lunch. MOST DEFINATELY A REDO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
First, I was confused about folks who say they didn't use a pie crust. This recipe says put in a pie PLATE - ?? Secondly I agree about buying a can of tomato paste for just a spoonful - you can buy tomato paste now in a tube; use what you need and put the tube into the frig for another time. Also, a nice touch other than mashed potatoes is to use frozen, thawed hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I cheat. I buy microwaveable mashed potatoes from the fridge section at market. Zap for a few minutes in microwave, stir in a beaten egg, some butter and sour cream and spread over meat mixture and occasionally sprinkle potatoes with grated cheddar. I also use green peas, corn and mushrooms with the meat and gravy mixture. Seldom have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great recipe! Smelled & tasted amazing! I added worcestershire sauce and left out the parsley. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
What a great recipe! I did add worcestershire and omitted the pie crust. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rabat, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Have made cottage pie from other recipes before and thought I'd try a new recipe this time. I should have stuck with the one I usually use as this was rather bland. Edible, but bland. My kids thought the same but then they've been spoilt with the real English dish having lived there most of their lives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is the best cottage pie I've made to date and I totally credit the sauce/gravy. I've always used a gravy packet or stuff from the jar before this. I made a few alterations: I only used a small sprinkle of cinnamon and it was plenty (cinnamon has such a strong flavor!) I also used a package of frozen carrots and peas instead of the fresh carrot because peas are essential to my cottage pies! I used ketchup in place of the tomato paste and also added a few good dashes of worcestershire sauce. As for the potatoes I just made them according to my preferences instead of using the recipe. I think I had to cook the beef mixture longer than 15 minutes to reduce it down but it turned out perfectly! The savory flavor was so delicious and waaaaaay better than any premade sauce/gravy. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great comfort food. Made only two small alterations- used Laura's lowfat ground turkey and about a T of butter in the meat mixture. I used an english farmhouse cheddar for the potatoes but thought that it would have been just as good without, or with less cheese. Cinnamon is key. My boyfriend who neither likes onions or casseroles said this was great. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
My son asks for this every year on his birthday or if he is just coming over for dinner. I have been cooking this for a few years and my family loves it. It has wonderful flavor and everyone loves it. Thank you. Jeri King
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I think this recipe is wonderful. Like others noted, you do need a large baking dish. You can adjust any seasonings to your taste, along with the added veggies, just play with it to find something you love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States