Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I think this recipe is wonderful. Like others noted, you do need a large baking dish. You can adjust any seasonings to your taste, along with the added veggies, just play with it to find something you love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is wonderful comfort food! It makes a lot, so I used a 13x9 baking dish. I also used frozen garlic mashed potatoes to save time - even so, from start to finish it took nearly an hour and a half to prepare - but it's worth it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnyslippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I make this every year for our St Patty's Day feast. I do not add the cinnamon, use ketchup instead of tomato paste and use a box of frozen peas and carrots. After I put on the mashed potatoes, I sprinkle with cheddar cheese. My family really enjoys this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is awesome! My husband loved it and even my too picky 5-year-old daughter ate it! Definitely NO leftover even if I doubled the recipe! However, I made some twists here and there (as I always do with other recipes). Added some garlic, celery, and diced potatoes. Then also added basil,oregano, parsley and a little more of the italian seasoning. I used a spaghetti Tomato sauce with Basil (leftover) instead of opening a new can of tomato paste. For the mashed potato, I let the water boiled and dissolved a cube of beef broth, then added the potatoes. It definitely gave some taste. Thank you so much! Will make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My boyfriend and I made this with his mom for a group of friends that we do dinner with every Sunday, we all take turns but this is one of the best recipes we've used. This last time we made it I added a pie crust and more seasoning to the meat. We also can't use cinnamon bc of an allergy so we substituted it with nutmeg. AMAZING flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie4217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Really good recipe with changes. I've substituted leftover cubed turkey/chicken for the beef. Omit cinnamon, parsley ...like others have said.Instead I've used 1 to 1.5 cups of tomato/spaghetti sauce and a dash of worcester sauce and lessened the beef broth to 1 cup for a thicker sauce without using the flour. Other times I've used leftover gravy for all/part of the sauce. Be sure to put a hole in the middle of the mashed potatoes so sauce/gravy won't spill over sides of dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I left out the cinnamon and the cheese and pie crust as these weren't to our taste. I added a handful of chopped mushrooms and a small can of garden peas into the mix. I also added a dash of worcestershire sauce and lots of salt & pepper. The great thing about this recipe is that you can chop and change the ingredients and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I followed the advice of previous reviewers...left out the cinnamon, and substituted ketchup for tomato paste. The result was fantastic!!!! Everyone (even the picky eaters) loved this dish...perfect for a cozy night in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UKJESSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
added corn and a can of diced tomatoes for part of the liquid... it was comfort in my mouth :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe!! I did change it a bit...I added 1/2 cup red wine to the broth (and decreased the broth by 1/2 cup-it was delicious! I also added frozen peas to the mix and baked it in a 9x9 pan because it wouldn't have fit in a pie plate. I would also reccommend peeling the potatoes before starting the meat mixture...it would have gone smoother if I would have done that first. Great recipe...I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States