Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
What a great recipe! I did add worcestershire and omitted the pie crust. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rabat, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Have made cottage pie from other recipes before and thought I'd try a new recipe this time. I should have stuck with the one I usually use as this was rather bland. Edible, but bland. My kids thought the same but then they've been spoilt with the real English dish having lived there most of their lives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is the best cottage pie I've made to date and I totally credit the sauce/gravy. I've always used a gravy packet or stuff from the jar before this. I made a few alterations: I only used a small sprinkle of cinnamon and it was plenty (cinnamon has such a strong flavor!) I also used a package of frozen carrots and peas instead of the fresh carrot because peas are essential to my cottage pies! I used ketchup in place of the tomato paste and also added a few good dashes of worcestershire sauce. As for the potatoes I just made them according to my preferences instead of using the recipe. I think I had to cook the beef mixture longer than 15 minutes to reduce it down but it turned out perfectly! The savory flavor was so delicious and waaaaaay better than any premade sauce/gravy. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great comfort food. Made only two small alterations- used Laura's lowfat ground turkey and about a T of butter in the meat mixture. I used an english farmhouse cheddar for the potatoes but thought that it would have been just as good without, or with less cheese. Cinnamon is key. My boyfriend who neither likes onions or casseroles said this was great. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
My son asks for this every year on his birthday or if he is just coming over for dinner. I have been cooking this for a few years and my family loves it. It has wonderful flavor and everyone loves it. Thank you. Jeri King
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I think this recipe is wonderful. Like others noted, you do need a large baking dish. You can adjust any seasonings to your taste, along with the added veggies, just play with it to find something you love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is wonderful comfort food! It makes a lot, so I used a 13x9 baking dish. I also used frozen garlic mashed potatoes to save time - even so, from start to finish it took nearly an hour and a half to prepare - but it's worth it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnyslippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I make this every year for our St Patty's Day feast. I do not add the cinnamon, use ketchup instead of tomato paste and use a box of frozen peas and carrots. After I put on the mashed potatoes, I sprinkle with cheddar cheese. My family really enjoys this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is awesome! My husband loved it and even my too picky 5-year-old daughter ate it! Definitely NO leftover even if I doubled the recipe! However, I made some twists here and there (as I always do with other recipes). Added some garlic, celery, and diced potatoes. Then also added basil,oregano, parsley and a little more of the italian seasoning. I used a spaghetti Tomato sauce with Basil (leftover) instead of opening a new can of tomato paste. For the mashed potato, I let the water boiled and dissolved a cube of beef broth, then added the potatoes. It definitely gave some taste. Thank you so much! Will make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My boyfriend and I made this with his mom for a group of friends that we do dinner with every Sunday, we all take turns but this is one of the best recipes we've used. This last time we made it I added a pie crust and more seasoning to the meat. We also can't use cinnamon bc of an allergy so we substituted it with nutmeg. AMAZING flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie4217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States