Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My picky English husband enjoys this. I've made it many times and sometimes make substitutions, like adding frozen peas & carrots mix instead of the fresh carrots. This is a meal my whole family enjoys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
first time making something like this and it was great! THE only changes I made were to add green beans. Also I use a food mill for the potatoes and it makes such a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good. I used ketchup and the full amount of cinnamon, and it was a little too sweet and "cinnamony." The cup of milk made the potatoes nice and smooth. Before baking I topped the pie with some melted butter and shaved parmesan, like they do at the Chip Shop in Brooklyn. Will make again (with some alterations)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Awesome recipe! I didn't use enough potatoes, but will the next time. Make sure that the four potatoes you use are big, if not, use like six. My 12 year old son woke up at midnight to get some water and couldn't resist the smell of this dish, and ate the leftovers I was looking foreward to for my lunch. MOST DEFINATELY A REDO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
First, I was confused about folks who say they didn't use a pie crust. This recipe says put in a pie PLATE - ?? Secondly I agree about buying a can of tomato paste for just a spoonful - you can buy tomato paste now in a tube; use what you need and put the tube into the frig for another time. Also, a nice touch other than mashed potatoes is to use frozen, thawed hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I cheat. I buy microwaveable mashed potatoes from the fridge section at market. Zap for a few minutes in microwave, stir in a beaten egg, some butter and sour cream and spread over meat mixture and occasionally sprinkle potatoes with grated cheddar. I also use green peas, corn and mushrooms with the meat and gravy mixture. Seldom have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great recipe! Smelled & tasted amazing! I added worcestershire sauce and left out the parsley. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
What a great recipe! I did add worcestershire and omitted the pie crust. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rabat, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Have made cottage pie from other recipes before and thought I'd try a new recipe this time. I should have stuck with the one I usually use as this was rather bland. Edible, but bland. My kids thought the same but then they've been spoilt with the real English dish having lived there most of their lives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is the best cottage pie I've made to date and I totally credit the sauce/gravy. I've always used a gravy packet or stuff from the jar before this. I made a few alterations: I only used a small sprinkle of cinnamon and it was plenty (cinnamon has such a strong flavor!) I also used a package of frozen carrots and peas instead of the fresh carrot because peas are essential to my cottage pies! I used ketchup in place of the tomato paste and also added a few good dashes of worcestershire sauce. As for the potatoes I just made them according to my preferences instead of using the recipe. I think I had to cook the beef mixture longer than 15 minutes to reduce it down but it turned out perfectly! The savory flavor was so delicious and waaaaaay better than any premade sauce/gravy. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States