Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is great!! A bigger pie plate would be helpful (I even used a 9.5 inch one). My stove got a little spattered. I didn't have Italian seasoning, so like another reviewer, I used some generous shakes of garlic powder, basil and oregano. I used 1 tbsp dried parsley instead of fresh, 1 tsp beef bouilion with one cup water instead of the beef broth, and 1 tbsp ketchup instead of the tomato paste. I used 1 cup of milk in the potatoes, as directed, which made them very runny going into the oven. However, after 25 minutes baking, they were great!! I also sauteed and simmered the beef mixture for a lot longer than the directions indicated--I was trying to make dinner and get my 15 month old to eat something at the same time--it makes everything take longer. So... great dish! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a good recipe. I don't understand where anyone came up with the idea that a pie crust is called for... the recipe states a 9" pie PLATE, not CRUST. Also, you can purchase tomato paste in a tube that you keep in the fridge, so when a TB is called for, simply squeeze out that amount, and save the remaining tube. Simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Had Cottage Pie for the first time in Ireland.This recipe was very good, but different. In contact with the person who made it in Ireland. Trying to get her recipe. May have been the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My husband was BEGGING for some Cottage Pie and this is now his favorite thing that I make (he actually said that!). The only changes I made to the meat mixture were to use ground Turkey instead of beef (being easy on the wasitline), substitute Thyme, Rosemary, Oregano, and Basil on their own rather than in the form of "Italian seasoning" (1/2 tsp of each and it was the perfect amount), and added 1/2 cup of frozen (or you could use fresh) peas. I used skin-on red potatoes and added a little fresh chopped garlic during the whipping process. Other than that I followed the recipe as written, and it was absolutely divine ;) My British friends were even impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbcampbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
people please read carefully. It says put into a pie plate not into a pie crust. otherwise the other comments and suggestions are worthwhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Delicious and easy! Changed a few things: I used 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1 1/2lbs of lean ground beef, a splash of worchestire--it was a beautiful blend of spices!!Recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very nice dish! The cinnamon is a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
delicious! i adjusted this slightly based on other reviewers comments but i think it's an excellent recipe. i increased the beef to 1.5 lbs, reduced the cinnamon, doubled the "italian seasoning", subbed ketchup for tomato paste, threw in some worchestershire, and made the potatoes like i would make basic mashed. perfect for a cold wintry night - my family loved it!! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very hearty. Good for a cold night, and easy to assemble/make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
ONLY USE 1/4 OF THE CINNAMON.. OTHERWISE IT ROCKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needs garlic!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States