Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I make this all the time, with a few changes. I use lean ground beef, usually just over a pound, and the McCormick 'Italian seasoning' grinder, and skip the cinnamon. I use only onion, parsnips and carrots. I buy 'simply mashed potatoes' or other good quality pre-made ones. And McCormick 'herb beef gravy' to pour over it all. It's always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I liked it.Not much different from mu usual recipe.I'm confused by some of the reviews which mention the use of a pie crust.Nowhere in the recipe is there mention of pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elma Elliot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was a simple, delicious meal that needs no alterations. Everyone was a fan and I even went back for seconds which I almost never do. I also love that I almost always have these ingredients on hand. This will definitely be an addition to my dinner recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very good recipe. I added fresh zucchini because I had some. We served it with mushy peas, also because I had some. I used about the same amount of cinnamon; it wasn't overbearing in my opinion. I grated the carrots, which gave it a better texture. The onion was omitted because my girlfriend hates them. For the sauce, I used double the tomato paste, 1.5 C water, 2 tsp of beef boullion, a few splashes each of worcestershire and steak sauce. I used garlic powder and almond milk in the potatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Topher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by singapore
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very good recipe! I used 1 ½ lbs of ground beef and 5 large potatoes for 4 people and it was almost the perfect amount. Sautéed garlic and onions before adding the beef and added some Lawry's Garlic Salt along with Celery salt and the Worcestershire sauce and skipped the cinnamon and oregano to keep the flavor more traditional. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I would give this 3.5 stars, but my husband gives it 3. The cinnamon was very prominent in this dish. After reading the reviews, I cut the cinnamon by a tiny bit. I wanted to try it with the cinnamon because I know there is cinnamon in Cincinnati chili, and we love that meal! I would like to try this again, but with maybe only 1/8 tsp cinnamon or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I've made a good many "Shepherds Pie" type recipes (I love 'em), to mixed reviews from the "Boss". This recipe rated a rave review from family and friends. Made this as written and don't plan too much tweaking in the future. So rich and "comforting". A salad and a good "Red" completes the meal. Really easy, and fun, and delicious! Thanks Caroline, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Was great...perfect food to make on a cold day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Tasty pie! My 9 inch pie pan was a little small, so there was a bit of over flow. Luckily, a cookie sheet caught most of the mess. I cut in half the amount of butter, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Tweaked slightly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States