Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
My Wife and I thought it was so good. What a wonderful recipe. I did make a few changes. I used twice the amount of cinnamon and triple the cheese. Yes I know you Aussies don't like flavour and do not enjoy cheese like us Canadians ( feel so sorry for you). I also put in mint flakes and nutmeg. Thank You Caroline W&M Nakusp, B.C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne & Muffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaslo, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Nakusp, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this recipe almost as directed. My onion was huge so I only used half, I added two small celery stalks, and about a cup of green peas (right at the end). Flour and cinnamon was eyeballed, and butter was supplemented with olive oil as I only had 3Tbsp of butter left in the stick. Also, I had no fresh parsley so subbed approx. 1 Tbsp dried parsley. Took someone else's advice and just used ketchup in place of the tomato paste. I questioned the cinnamon a bit last night as it wasn't a bad flavor, but was certainly obvious. BUT. The flavors had a chance to meld overnight and the leftovers taste fantastic. AND. My extremely picky son ate every. single. bite. of this, even though he accused me of withholding information regarding the amount of vegetables in the dish (picky, picky...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I used a sweet onion and cut cinnamon in half, so the flavor was mild. Probably will go with the full amt next time. Wasn't sure what Italian seasoning meant, so used oregano and basil....could have added a tsp of minced garlic too. Super easy recipe with common ingredients. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Another favorite! I recently traveled to London and had the opportunity to eat cottage pie prepared by a friend. It inspired me to find a recipe and make it at home. This is the only one I have tried, but I see no need to look for another one. Whether it is authentic or not, it is delicious. The cinnamon blends well with the other spices and gives it a bit of a Mediterranean flavor twist. I tried less cinnamon once, but missed its flavor, so I went with full strength on all the spices the next time, and liked it best that way. I like to microwave the chopped carrots before adding them to the meat mixture so they are soft. One change I made is to add cooked English peas to the meat mixture with the carrots just before baking. I don't care for the taste of canned peas, and mixing it into the pie hides their flavor while giving another texture to the dish, making a nice one pot meal. One time I tried preparing everything, put it in the baking dish, covering it after it cooled, and refrigerating it. Then I just had to bake it at meal time. This was a time saver, but the potatoes were a little dry. I prefer having fresh mashed potatoes on top. I have served this several times as a one pot meal, and more of it is eaten than expected. It is not bad as a leftover, reheated in the microwave, but the mashed potatoes sometimes get a bit dried out with storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Perfect cold weather meal. I took others suggestions and added peas and worcestershire sauce, and substituted ketchup for the tomato paste just to make it a little easier. The recipe I read did not call for pie crust. The cinnamon made the flavor in my opinion, a pleasant surprise. I used a 9×13 pan and wished I'd made extra potatoes so that layer was a little thicker on top. I also added extra meat and carrots to make it heartier, and more flour to make it thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I make this all the time, with a few changes. I use lean ground beef, usually just over a pound, and the McCormick 'Italian seasoning' grinder, and skip the cinnamon. I use only onion, parsnips and carrots. I buy 'simply mashed potatoes' or other good quality pre-made ones. And McCormick 'herb beef gravy' to pour over it all. It's always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I liked it.Not much different from mu usual recipe.I'm confused by some of the reviews which mention the use of a pie crust.Nowhere in the recipe is there mention of pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elma Elliot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was a simple, delicious meal that needs no alterations. Everyone was a fan and I even went back for seconds which I almost never do. I also love that I almost always have these ingredients on hand. This will definitely be an addition to my dinner recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Ka-t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very good recipe. I added fresh zucchini because I had some. We served it with mushy peas, also because I had some. I used about the same amount of cinnamon; it wasn't overbearing in my opinion. I grated the carrots, which gave it a better texture. The onion was omitted because my girlfriend hates them. For the sauce, I used double the tomato paste, 1.5 C water, 2 tsp of beef boullion, a few splashes each of worcestershire and steak sauce. I used garlic powder and almond milk in the potatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Topher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by singapore
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very good recipe! I used 1 ½ lbs of ground beef and 5 large potatoes for 4 people and it was almost the perfect amount. Sautéed garlic and onions before adding the beef and added some Lawry's Garlic Salt along with Celery salt and the Worcestershire sauce and skipped the cinnamon and oregano to keep the flavor more traditional. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States