Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great tasting and true comfort food at its next! I omitted the cinnamon and added Old Bay Seasoning for our family's taste preferences. Great Old World recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikikim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy and tasted great, thank you! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this last night, made some changes though. My mince meat was a mix of pork and beef. I switched the Italian dressing to some garlic and dried oregano and then added Worcester sauce. Finally I added frozen peas and sweet corn to the mix. The result was amazing, couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good! I mixed the peas in with the meat before adding the mashed potatoes and used ketchup since I was out of tomato paste. Hands down the best cottage pie recipe I've tried. Even my picky eater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
used cinnamon-liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
My mother used to make this (sans cinnamon), it was a childhood favorite of mine. Now I think it has become a favorite of my husband, he had two huge helpings, then grazed on it all evening. I added crimini mushrooms sauteed in butter/garlic w/Madeira, which I thought was a waste, they were almost lost in the meat. Overall I found it to be a pleasant dish but a bit boring. Next time I will add some heat, peppers, fresh herbs & spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It was definitely different to the way my mother and grandmother used to make it, but I have to say that I really enjoyed it - and so did the family! I didn't have any tomato paste so used four large fresh plum tomatoes instead, and omitted the parsley as I likewise had none. The cinnamon added a deliciously different note to the flavour. I cooked up two pounds of ground beef, and doubled up on the other ingredients as a result. I figured that that was more enough to feed five adults and have leftovers to freeze or eat for lunch during the week - but there are no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
No flour, brown gravy, catsup instead of tomato paste, peas in meat & potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
A very good recipe, I made a few modifications (first is the removal of the cinnamon, it doesn't belong in this recipe), I also doubled it and made it in a 13x9 pan. I also added some garlic powder (both to the meat mixture as well as to the mashed potatoes) and added 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms. It was well received by everyone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Yummy. A good ratio of potato to meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States