Proper English Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very good recipe. I added fresh zucchini because I had some. We served it with mushy peas, also because I had some. I used about the same amount of cinnamon; it wasn't overbearing in my opinion. I grated the carrots, which gave it a better texture. The onion was omitted because my girlfriend hates them. For the sauce, I used double the tomato paste, 1.5 C water, 2 tsp of beef boullion, a few splashes each of worcestershire and steak sauce. I used garlic powder and almond milk in the potatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Topher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by singapore
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very good recipe! I used 1 ½ lbs of ground beef and 5 large potatoes for 4 people and it was almost the perfect amount. Sautéed garlic and onions before adding the beef and added some Lawry's Garlic Salt along with Celery salt and the Worcestershire sauce and skipped the cinnamon and oregano to keep the flavor more traditional. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I would give this 3.5 stars, but my husband gives it 3. The cinnamon was very prominent in this dish. After reading the reviews, I cut the cinnamon by a tiny bit. I wanted to try it with the cinnamon because I know there is cinnamon in Cincinnati chili, and we love that meal! I would like to try this again, but with maybe only 1/8 tsp cinnamon or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I've made a good many "Shepherds Pie" type recipes (I love 'em), to mixed reviews from the "Boss". This recipe rated a rave review from family and friends. Made this as written and don't plan too much tweaking in the future. So rich and "comforting". A salad and a good "Red" completes the meal. Really easy, and fun, and delicious! Thanks Caroline, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Was great...perfect food to make on a cold day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~GypsyDoll~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Tasty pie! My 9 inch pie pan was a little small, so there was a bit of over flow. Luckily, a cookie sheet caught most of the mess. I cut in half the amount of butter, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Tweaked slightly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great tasting and true comfort food at its next! I omitted the cinnamon and added Old Bay Seasoning for our family's taste preferences. Great Old World recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikikim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Easy and tasted great, thank you! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this last night, made some changes though. My mince meat was a mix of pork and beef. I switched the Italian dressing to some garlic and dried oregano and then added Worcester sauce. Finally I added frozen peas and sweet corn to the mix. The result was amazing, couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States