Profiteroles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Just finished baking the puffs only. I haven't made the cream yet, but that seems to be the easy part. The puffs came out beautiful. I cut into one and tasted. Wonderful. So what did I change...I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the water and butter mixture since I read a comment on the blah taste of the puff. I think that added a little something to the dough. Otherwise, that's it. Oh, I can see where you would want height on these. They come out prettier. I had a couple that came out taller due to how I placed the dough. Next time I will use tablespoon or 3/4 of tablespoon of dough and go back with maybe a teaspoon of dough on top of each to give height. I used a small serving spoon this time and prob should've been a little smaller. Great recipe!! Very eye catching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
They were so runny and ended up burning with no puff at all... Bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Used the suggestions others made, I used a slightly lower temp, which they turned out perfectly golden (400 F), I only used 3 eggs as mine were XL size, and I used a chopstick and a Ziploc bag with a corner cut out to fill them. Then were fabulous! We made them the night before and then drizzled with sauce before serving. Thanks - I will make these again now that I know how easy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I have made these several times in the past, trying to duplicate the profiteroles from a local Italian bistro. These are close. A couple of tips...do not fill them until just before serving because they get soggy, and if you want an extra fabulous layer of flavor, make a creme anglais and set a couple of them in a puddle of that before drizzling them with chocolate ganache... Comes close to heaven. Try them this way filled with chocolate mousse and you are in heaven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Cut butter into chunks. Put them with water in a covered pan. Bring to boil. Remove from heat. Dump whisked flour and salt. Whisk. Batter aggregate into a ball in 5-6 seconds. Put batter into a large bowl. Let cool for 1 minute. With hand mixer, mix in one egg at a time. Put puffs in the oven at 425 for 15 minutes, then maybe lower to 400 the last 10 minutes. Poke a hole in each puff. You can leave them in the open oven for a few more minutes or even longer, they will not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
They did not puff up as much as normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeninesymi
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have just completed a wedding order for 250 profiteroles and used this recipe - it works exactly as it says. The only thing that I would say is that I used extra large eggs, you want to make sure the dough is not too thick. I got 25 out of each batch. Perfect thank you www.olivetreesymi.eu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Alright
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Wow - who knew profiteroles were so easy? As others have said, bring the water and butter to a rolling boil, then add all the flowers and remove from heat, then stir, then add eggs one at a time. Dollops should be about a heaping tbsp. I can fit about 12 on a standard cookie sheet. Don't let them fall down; try to pile them high so they puff up, not out. I only cooked mine for 20 minutes. My second batch of puffs were a lot bigger, so they took 24 minutes. Some of them deflated, but most of them stayed puffed. The smaller ones held up better. The 1 cup of cream made enough filling for me. I added 1 tsp of vanilla instead of rose water. I would suggest using a bit less than 1/4 cup of sugar because it's really sweet! I used a chopstick to make a hole in the bottom once they were cool, pressed a ziplock piping bag up against the hole and squeezed the bag until I felt the puff inflate with cream. Then dipped it in the melted chocolate mixture and YUM! They taste real and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacey
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
WOW...delicious. Very easy to make. Followed other reviewers' advice on making sure the water + butter was fully boiling before adding flour + eggs and I had no problem. I piped the dough out into small clumps using a zip-lock bag (fill, squeeze out air, cut off small corner and you have a pastry bag). They came out very attractive. Not having any rose water, I added a tsp of vanilla to the cream mixture. At first I planned on not adding the chocolate sauce, but tasting one without it, I felt the puffs needed it. So I melted some semisweet chips and mixed with butter instead of cream and dipped the puffs in that. DELICOUS. Absolutely wonderful; impressive by sight and by taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States