Profiteroles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
They were so runny and ended up burning with no puff at all... Bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Used the suggestions others made, I used a slightly lower temp, which they turned out perfectly golden (400 F), I only used 3 eggs as mine were XL size, and I used a chopstick and a Ziploc bag with a corner cut out to fill them. Then were fabulous! We made them the night before and then drizzled with sauce before serving. Thanks - I will make these again now that I know how easy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I have made these several times in the past, trying to duplicate the profiteroles from a local Italian bistro. These are close. A couple of tips...do not fill them until just before serving because they get soggy, and if you want an extra fabulous layer of flavor, make a creme anglais and set a couple of them in a puddle of that before drizzling them with chocolate ganache... Comes close to heaven. Try them this way filled with chocolate mousse and you are in heaven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Cut butter into chunks. Put them with water in a covered pan. Bring to boil. Remove from heat. Dump whisked flour and salt. Whisk. Batter aggregate into a ball in 5-6 seconds. Put batter into a large bowl. Let cool for 1 minute. With hand mixer, mix in one egg at a time. Put puffs in the oven at 425 for 15 minutes, then maybe lower to 400 the last 10 minutes. Poke a hole in each puff. You can leave them in the open oven for a few more minutes or even longer, they will not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
They did not puff up as much as normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeninesymi
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have just completed a wedding order for 250 profiteroles and used this recipe - it works exactly as it says. The only thing that I would say is that I used extra large eggs, you want to make sure the dough is not too thick. I got 25 out of each batch. Perfect thank you www.olivetreesymi.eu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Alright
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Wow - who knew profiteroles were so easy? As others have said, bring the water and butter to a rolling boil, then add all the flowers and remove from heat, then stir, then add eggs one at a time. Dollops should be about a heaping tbsp. I can fit about 12 on a standard cookie sheet. Don't let them fall down; try to pile them high so they puff up, not out. I only cooked mine for 20 minutes. My second batch of puffs were a lot bigger, so they took 24 minutes. Some of them deflated, but most of them stayed puffed. The smaller ones held up better. The 1 cup of cream made enough filling for me. I added 1 tsp of vanilla instead of rose water. I would suggest using a bit less than 1/4 cup of sugar because it's really sweet! I used a chopstick to make a hole in the bottom once they were cool, pressed a ziplock piping bag up against the hole and squeezed the bag until I felt the puff inflate with cream. Then dipped it in the melted chocolate mixture and YUM! They taste real and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacey
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
WOW...delicious. Very easy to make. Followed other reviewers' advice on making sure the water + butter was fully boiling before adding flour + eggs and I had no problem. I piped the dough out into small clumps using a zip-lock bag (fill, squeeze out air, cut off small corner and you have a pastry bag). They came out very attractive. Not having any rose water, I added a tsp of vanilla to the cream mixture. At first I planned on not adding the chocolate sauce, but tasting one without it, I felt the puffs needed it. So I melted some semisweet chips and mixed with butter instead of cream and dipped the puffs in that. DELICOUS. Absolutely wonderful; impressive by sight and by taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
oh my! This recipe is very easy and very, very good! My oven runs hotter so I had to turn the temp down to 400 and baked it for 20 minutes instead of 25-30 mins. Thanks for the recipe, CELTICKIM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States