Profiteroles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CELTICKIM
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The batter should not be "stiff" or thick. That's what makes the puffs so tender inside. I make these several times a year and they come out "perfect" if you follow the recipe exactly as it is. As another reviewer mentioned, you must wait until the water and butter are at a full rolling boil and then add the flour all at once. It also makes a difference if you don't add the eggs one by one as stated. The picture I added above is of this exact recipe followed 100% as it is. Edited to add: Please note that in different areas, "heavy" and "whipping" cream are the same thing. This is definitely meant to be the kind of cream you "whip". Also, if your puffs deflate when they come out of the oven, this could be due to banging the cookie sheet too hard, or simply the climate in your area. I find a foolproof way to prevent deflating is to cut a slit in the side of each puff as soon as you take them out of the oven to allow the hot air to escape and prevent them from falling. I notice someone mentioned their puffs were burning on the bottom. Mine have never done this, but some ovens run hotter than others so try reducing the heat to 400 degrees instead. Also, I use a Silpat which seems to work well with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe is pretty good. The dough is the same as in cream puffs, so I went over there after my first attempt was too runny. Basically, one key is that you HAVE to make sure the water and butter are at a rolling boiling before adding the flour!! If your liquid is not hot enough, the flour won't set correctly. The rest is very lovely. My boyfriend loves profiteroles and I made this for his birthday. He was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I love profiteroles, but the rose water just takes it to a whole new level. I use a piping bag for the dough (it helps with uniformity, but it isn't necessary), and I usually like to mix the cream with the sugar and the rose water before I whip it. Easier, fewer steps. If you're planning on serving these later, wait to put the chocolate sauce on because once it dries the flavor of the sauce is lost and it just lends an awkward texture to the profiteroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I have made these many times, and the BEST way to do it is to use a silicone mat! The will never burn on the bottom and you won't have to chance ruining them when you try to get them off the pan! They come right off with no effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Turned out better than I expected. Very light and delicate. EASY to make, took no time at all. I would double the portion of the recipe for the cream filling. I only had enough to fill half of the puffs. Lovely recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Wow - who knew profiteroles were so easy? As others have said, bring the water and butter to a rolling boil, then add all the flowers and remove from heat, then stir, then add eggs one at a time. Dollops should be about a heaping tbsp. I can fit about 12 on a standard cookie sheet. Don't let them fall down; try to pile them high so they puff up, not out. I only cooked mine for 20 minutes. My second batch of puffs were a lot bigger, so they took 24 minutes. Some of them deflated, but most of them stayed puffed. The smaller ones held up better. The 1 cup of cream made enough filling for me. I added 1 tsp of vanilla instead of rose water. I would suggest using a bit less than 1/4 cup of sugar because it's really sweet! I used a chopstick to make a hole in the bottom once they were cool, pressed a ziplock piping bag up against the hole and squeezed the bag until I felt the puff inflate with cream. Then dipped it in the melted chocolate mixture and YUM! They taste real and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzyB
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Wow---Who knew making profiteroles was so easy and quick! This recipe makes a beautiful and impressive classic dessert. I followed the tips of other reviewers about adding the flour all at once and everything mixed together perfectly! This recipe is a keeper! Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I did not like the flavor of the puffs. The cream on the other hand was delish! I had some with my coffee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheffSol
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Quick and easy just make sure that the water is boiling before you add the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheffSol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Excellent recipe. Very easy to make. They were so large only one per person was needed, so I had 9 left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Orchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States