Pro Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PATRINCIA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Ganache recipes can vary greatly in chocolate to cream ratios - this version falls somewhere in the middle and is great! I like to simplify the process by chopping the chips in my food processor until they resemble fine crumbs. Then I heat the cream in a heavy bottomed saucepan until it just starts to bubble around the edges, pour the hot cream down the feed tube of the food processor, add the vanilla and give it a whirl... in seconds you have wonderful ganache. I should mention that chocolate chips contain stabilizers that allow them to keep their shape while they are warm, and those stabilizers don't melt down smoothly like chocolate does, so for a smoother finished product, I strain the warm ganache through a fine mesh strainer (this is not a necessary step, but will give more professional results). Use this ganache warm as a pourable glaze, let it cool to room temp (over night) and use like a standard frosting, or chill until firm and whip with a heavy stand mixer until it's lighter in color and spreadable. You can even use this ganache to make authentic chocolate truffles - just roll the chilled ganache (unwhipped) into balls and coat with cocoa powder, chopped nuts, or whatever. By the way, I used this recipe to cover a chocolate wedding cake and it turned out wonderfully! One more hint: if you use this ganache to "frost" a cake, but be sure to bring the cake to room temperature before cutting (using a hot knife). You'll love this extremely versatile and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Normally I insist on using a good quality chocolate for ganache but today I just threw a doctored up cake mix together quickly and thought this chocolate chip version would be "good enough." To my surprise, it was better than just "good enough" and I was pleased to glaze my cake with it. (And I even forgot to add the vanilla!) I chilled it just long enough to make it of thick pouring consistency so that it adhered to the cake nicely without most of it running off. I had quite a bit left over, so I just refrigerated it for another time. Maybe I'll melt it again and use it as a glaze for cupcakes, or a fudgy topping for cheesecake. Or maybe I'll let it come to room temperature and whip the heck out of it for a fluffier frosting. Or maybe I'll heat it up and pour it over ice cream, or stir some into hot milk, or....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I cooked this a day ahead of time and put it in the fridge overnight. To get the ganache to a pourable state, I let it get to room temperature then put the glass bowl I had it in over a pot of simmering water to 're-melt' it. It was perfect. I poured it over a layered ice cream cake I made for a birthday and they were very impressed. Delish! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was excellent. I always wanted to make this and I really loved it. It was different to work with, you can put it in between layers or use as a rich icing. It left such a nice shine on the cakes. I had enough to cover a 3 layer cake and a small heart cake. It had a flavor that was divine. Everyone was very impressed with this cake already requesting it for special occasions. I wanted to make something very special for my nephews 16th birthday. I made a 3 layer cake, 2 layers were a yellow butter cake and the middle layer was chocolate. I put a vanilla butter cream between 2 layers and a chocolate butter cream between the other 2 layers. Covered the entire cake with the ganache then made a whipped cream for the top, sprinkled it with chocolate shavings and ground almonds. I believe it was my best work thus far. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made this recipe the first time and felt it wasn't quite the flavor I was happy with. Then I made it again did half semi-sweet chocolate and have milk chocolate and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
The Pro Ganache was not very Pro in my book. I used it to pour on a cake and the icing was both thin (I did not overheat it), and it cracked which made it look not very "Pro". I followed the recipe exactly and used good quality Ghiradelli chocolate chips. I'll keep looking for a good ganache recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDJEN323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
One of my favourite things about this recipe is that it's so easy to scale it. I quarter it and get a perfect amount for one 8 or 9 inch cake. I also use half milk chocolate melts and half good quality non-baking chocolate, usually Lindt 70% cocoa chocolate. This is a delicious and versatile recipe that I use all the time. Can't recommend it highly enough! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This recipe worked very well for me. I did only a half batch, because I was just pouring it on a small oatmeal cake. I used a little different tecnique then this recipe recomended. I put the whipping cream and vanilla in a sauce pan over med heat. I then added my choc. and just stirred it untill it was all melted. Brought it to a slight boil over med/high heat, and then poured it directly over my cake, and sprinkled it with flaked coconut. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This stuff is incredible. Whipped a bit - you can keep it in the fridge and serve it as chocolate pots. My family can't stay out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I dripped this over the top of a white frosting, it looked beautiful I almost replicated my wedding cake. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States