Prize-Winning Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I was looking for a good soft sugar cookie recipe. These are awesome! Super soft, sweet but not too sweet. I left the nutmeg out altogether because I didn't have any. Pretty sure I wouldn't put it in if I did have it. If you're looking for a "great for dunking in chocolate milk" cookie, this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is different kind of sugar cookie, it soft like a tea cake and very plain. I added lemon zest and I had to add a lemon glaze because this is NOT a sweet cookie. It has to be spread out are you will have a large puff. I didn't use the nutmeg. Overall it is a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I just tried this recipe. The texture was quite nice but the flavour was surprisingly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
They don't look anything like the picture. I was hoping that the cookies would flatten out but nothing worked. As well I thought they would have an intense vanilla flavour but ended up bland. Cake-like yes but that seemed to be the only redeeming factor. I am always on the hunt for an awesome sugar cookie - this was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
too cakey for my liking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovelucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I followed this recipe almost exactly. Instead of buttermilk I use a cup of milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice & I omitted the nutmeg. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Freedom Keesler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Continental, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I was totally dissappointed my 17yrold son loves all sweets he hated these, they were way too puffy, he said tool much vanilla, the taste to me was'nt too bad, so maybe oneone else can work with these to improve them. Best of luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
These were the worst cookies I've ever had. A complete waste of $5.00 in butter. I can't get the taste of baking powder off my tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I guess I was warned that these would be cake-like - they certainly were! I was hoping for a cookie I could ice, but they were way too poofy. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I haven't baked these yet, but I can tell you, I couldn't mix them, too much flour, had to add another egg, as well as more buttermilk, should be interesting to see how they turn out. Almost burnt out my mixer, had to mix by hand. Update, did not care for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States