Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is so delicious! I used this recipe on thick bone-in pork chops and barbecued them for about 15 minutes. I smothered the chops in bbq sauce and transferred them to a 170 degree oven for another hour. They were extremely tender and tasty! I keep a shaker bottle of this spice mix in my pantry now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. I had company last weekend - my girlfriends husband is quite a food critic and he said these were #1. All others agreed! Thanks for a spectactular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Yeah!!!! I finally made some really good ribs!!! I can cook, but the one time I tried to make ribs, oh, 25 years ago, they came out tough and awful. These were great!!! I followed all of the directions for removing the membrane (I used a paring knife to get each membrane started) and for the rub. I did brush some beer on the ribs before I put the rub on to help them stick, but I probably didn't have to. They were in my fridge for 24 hours before I cooked them. We use a grill that can burn charcoal or wood, so getting the flame just right was tricky, but it all worked out. I just used bottle barbeque sauce, but next time I will either doctored some, or make some from scratch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I need the grill for other things, so I used the spice rub and baked three racks in foil (each in its own foil packet) for 2 hrs at 300 deg. Then I took them out, let them set till I was ready to use them, and put them on a medium low grill, flipped them, sauced them, and AMAZING. Going before they hit the table. Note: to remove the membrane take a sharp knife, run it along the middle of the smallest bone on the bony side. Separate it carefully and then just pull it off in one swoop. Works every time, and no coming off in pieces. Enjoy and bask in the glory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Flavor was very good. It may have been the type of grill or my error that they didn't turn out as great as I expected; I want to make sure they stay moist next time so I will seal the ribs in foil before cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
we really wanted to BBQ something other than burgers and came across this recipe. I wanted to give a try but my husband was a bit reluctant due to the fact that we cannot open the lid for one hour. Well, i insisted and the Ribs came out AWESOME! I cut down on the cumin and wished we added a bit chili powder to give it an extra kick. I cannot wait to grill this again but i will lower the temp from 350 to 300 and keep the lid close for an additional 1/2 hr to see if it falls of the bone tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceecee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Excellent! Let them sit in the fridge overnight with the rub then baked them at 350 for 3 hours. Slathered with sweet baby ray's and grilled for about 15 minutes were so tender they were falling off the bone. Have made twice in the last month and I am sure to make them again in the very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Used this recipe with Hibb's sauce, and it was outstanding. everyone was raving about the ribs. I cut my ribs in half for serving purposes, and baked in a covered shallow pan with a bit of water for 2 hours at 325*. Then I grilled and basted with BBQ sauce for 5 minutes. They were literally falling off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE, ONLY ADDING SOME ONION AND GARLIC POWDER. I BAKED THEM AT 250 FOR 2.5 HOURS (WE HAD TOO MUCH GRILLING GOING ON TO COOK THEM ON THE GRILL FOR AN HOUR.) TOOK THEM OUT OF THE OVEN, SWABBED THEM IN BBQ SAUCE AND GRILLED THEM UNTIL CRISPY. EVERYONE LOVED THEM AND WERE EVEN PICKING THE CRISPY CRUMBS OFF THE PLATTER!! GREAT RECIPE, WILL BE MY BABY BACK REGULAR FROM NOW ON. THANKS! 7/6/10 update: I tried baking them early in the day as we had a lot of company coming. I removed them from the oven, opened the aluminum foil, added the BBQ sauce, resealed the foil and let them sit on the counter for several hours until we were ready to cook them. Fall off the bone tender & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These were so tasty and would have been even better if I could have cooked them on a charcoal grill. Even on gas they turned out great. The hardest part with this on gas, however, is that with sugar the fire gets high and hot and can burn the ribs. I will definitely do this on charcoal next time and I am sure that they will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States