Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Tried them yesterdays. So easy. I made two slabs of pork ribs and not the baby back. I prepared double the spices. I couldn't help but to rub the spices in a bit. I added salt and pepper directly to the ribs after the spices. We used a charcoal grill and luckily we opened the lid about 30 minutes in and they were just about done. We did flip them over for a while and then added the bbq sauce. Superb! How easy and delicious these were! I will definitely make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wow...I fixed these for dinner last evening and they were wonderful. I did a different spice blend but followed the rest of the directions. The part about not opening the grill is the gospel. I believe that is the reason they were so good. Thanks Bonnie Q. for sharing this recipe and letting the rest of us shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I saved back the last star because my ribs were not "babies?. I used a 5 lb rack of spare ribs, pork, and all the same rubs and recipes. Baby ribs, if not on special, are not an economical supper. My spare ribs were, however, very tasty and good. They needed another 30 min at 330 to 335 to get done They were crusty and pleasant, but perhaps more chewy than is usual with "baby back".Incidentally, did you know that the baby back ribs and the spares come from the same pig? The baby back simply come from "higher up on the hog!" This recipe is certainly a good, reliable and simple way to prepare ribs, from which the individual cook will proceed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Prepared exactly as described. Unbelievably easy and wonderful!! Will never make ribs any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
The rub was ok, although I did add oregano and thyme. But an hour is not nearly what grill masters have in mind when they say ribs should be grilled "low and slow." Hubs was right - one hour was not long enough for these to be "fall off the bone tender," so at that point I turned it over to his expertise. There should be nothing quick about barbecued ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is a great rub. I cut the cumin in half. I make sure not to peek for the full hour. We love this recipe at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Sunday was the first time I ever tried to BBQ pork ribs without boiling first. Cooked about 6lbs. as per the recipe and what an awesome hit!!! All 10 people at the BBQ loved it. I'll be cooking it again in three weeks for a street BBQ. L. Gibson Sherwood Park, Ab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gibby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These are awesome! I have made them on the grill and also in a slow oven. It's a very favorite of all. I add a bit of seasoned salt to the rub. Delicious and always tender. Whenever I tell my grown up kids that I am making ribs, they come running! Thanks for the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This recipe is *soooo* good! I have been on the lookout for a good rib rub recipe and this is it! We can't always bbq were we live, so I cook my ribs at 175 degrees farenheit for appx. 6 or 7 hours. Yes, slow cooking in the oven. Don't boil them first! Never do that! Just rub them, let them slow cook while you're going about your business. Then in the last 15 minutes, remove your ribs from the oven, up the heat to 450, slather on a good bbq sauce and let them cook another 10 minutes then serve. These are downright succulent. Oh and thank you JEREMYM for your fantastic tip on how to remove the membrane! Such a helpful tip!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
We tried these this past weekend and they were great. I will leave them in half an hour more to see if they get anymore tender. The rub was wonderful too. Moist and tender. Definately worth a try for anyone that loves ribs but hates to watch them for hours. Also might try some soaked hickory chips on the tinfoil and see if we get a smokey flavor. What a great recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States