Princess Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These cookies are delicious! soft, simple and good. Not very strong on the lemon flavor tho, but I loved them! I used a glaze on some of these (fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar), some with just powdered sugar and some with both. The lemon glaze added a more lemon taste which was good. The cookie itself with or without glaze or powdered sugar is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very tasty. I have also made this recipe subbing in grapefruit zest and grapefruit juice for the lemon and it is equally delicious. For a bit of fun, I make this (and many other cookies) on my waffle iron instead of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Wow, this is an excellent recipe for lemon cookies! I followed the recipe exactly and decided to follow the suggestion of rolling the ball of uncooked dough in sugar. After baking and tasting the cookie, I then decided to follow the other suggestion of making a glaze with fresh lemon juice and drizzling it over the cooled cookies. Bingo! Thats the winning combo! The sugar gives it a slightly crackly texture, and the glaze gives it that additional zing of lemon. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent! One of the best cookies I've made in a long time. I used egg replacer powder and they baked up absolutely beautifully. I really wanted a noticeable lemon flavor so I added 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract and doubled them lemon zest. I rolled them in sugar before baking which gave them a wonderful crisp outside. I will make again and again! Highly recommended. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I am in lemon cookie heaven. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Yummo! I used orange juice/zest because I didn't have lemon and these were amazing. My daughter calls them Annabelle cookies instead of Princess cookies. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Wonderful! The lemony taste is perfect for spring, although I can see where past reviewers were coming from when saying they were too soft. Nonetheless, they came out great, and the glaze added an extra flavor. All I had was self-rising flour, so I just halved the amount of baking soda and salt to accommodate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That1kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I rolled cookies in sugar, raw sugar and powdered sugar to see which would work best - powdered for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made exactly as is but I did add 10 drops of lemon extract instead of zest, didn't have lemons. I also used about 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1-3/4 cup regular flour. It wasn't sticky at all, and formed balls very well. I did refrigerate it overnight, but I could have rolled them into balls right away. Delicious flavor, and soft at 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
These were pretty good. I was expecting a more shortbread-like cookie after looking through the pictures, so I was surprised at how cakey these came out. I had the hardest time ever rolling the dough into balls. I even refrigerated it overnight, but I had to heavily flour my hands and counter before I could roll them. This was frustrating to me, so I ended up only rolling about two dozen balls before I gave up and pressed the rest of the dough into my 7" x 11" baking pan to make a bar type cookie. Now, I wish I had rolled it all into balls, because the cookies came out pretty cute, after I drizzled them with a lemon-powdered sugar glaze and sprinkled them with yellow sugar. Not sure if I'd make these again, as they were quite a pain to roll out. They are pretty good, though, so we shall see. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States