Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
recipe good. i just didn't trust that it would be done at 145. my husband bought the cut of meat and chopped it in half. ended up only having a 1.5 pound rib to cook tonight. i had no idea how to adjust the cooking times and temps for such a small cut of meat so i followed others' suggestions. i baked at 500 for 10 minutes (5 min/lb) and had the meat therm in it the whole time. shut it off at 10 min and let it go till it climbed to 150 (about an hour). i was afraid of under cooking it and i shouldn't have been. the taste was good with the garlic and mustard, but it was definitely over cooked :( at least we have the other half to do better on. thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missi.spirito

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe was GREAT! So easy and delicious. I was a bit hesitant with the dijon mustard, but it was great. I cooked my 5lb for 30 min at 500 and let it sit for 1 1/2 hours after shutting the oven off. It was a bit rare. Next time I will do the 5 lb. for 45 min. at 500 and then let it sit for about the same time. Everyone loved it and it was soo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was a hit for those who liked their prime rib well done. I like mine on the rarer side. I didn't have any problems with smoke, however next time I will reduce the time that the roast is in the oven. I used a 4 lb roast and will not peak for 60 minutes. Although it was cooked more than I would have liked, it was still very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
When I bought the prime rib, I had absolutely no idea on how to cook it. I logged on to allrecipes.com and found this recipe. I admit that I was skeptical (mustard on a $100 cut of meat??) but I told myself to trust the process, my peeps at allrecipe.com have yet to fail me and I'm glad I did! This was by far the best prime rib I have ever had. I followed the cooking directions to the letter (this is a MUST) and it was hard not to open the oven during the 90 minute wait but I made it through and with spectacular results! I used horseradish mustard and montreal steak seasoning instead of what the recipe called for. Yes, there was smoke but I knew what to expect (this is why I read reviews) so it was not big deal, just open a few windows and kick on the ceiling fan. My husband thought I was crazy with the mustard so we made two prime ribs - he smoked one and the one I made - mine was the hands down favorite - try this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Don't know where I went wrong! I read all the reviews. Put my 5 lb roast in the oven at 500 for 25 minutes then let sit for 90 min or so. Came out cooked about 1" into the meat and the rest was absolutely raw. Then baked at 350 for 45 min hoping to save this $55 roast - but no luck. I'd never try this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Here's the lesson I learned for this recipe: Use a meat thermometer BEFORE you put the roast in the oven to make sure that the meat is at room temperature (70 degrees) inside and out. I took my roast out of the frig two hours before I intended to start it cooking. When I went to put it in the oven, the interior temperature was still 41 degrees. I am supposing that is why my 6 1/2 pound roast was not done after 35 minutes at 500 degrees and 90 minutes in a brand new, tightly closed oven. With more cooking, it tasted great. The mustard and garlic proportions are just right for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairiefire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I used this recipe for Christmas dinner and adjusted according to reviews. I had a 4.6 lb roast. I cooked it at 500 for 22 minute and then let it sit for an hour without opening the oven. I had a meat thermometer in it while it was cooking and it was only 95 degrees after 60 minutes. So I cooked it at 375 for an additional 45 minutes (until the meat thermometer reached 140). I took the roast out of the oven and the outside did not sear and the color was not very appetizing. I am not sure if my oven door did not seal properly or if the roast should have been at room temperature before cooking. I'll try this again but I will not use as much dijion mustard if any at all. Meat was very tender but did not come out medium rare. Was more like medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I tried this recipe with a 5 pound roast, cooked for 30min then left in for 60min. Roast was not done yet (130f), cooked for an additional 20 minutes at 375 and roast was medium-rare(140f). Flavor was excellent (I did rub with "Famous Daves Steak and Burger Seasoning" before applying mustard)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Great recipe. It was a hit with my teens and boyfriend. This was a run thru for Christmas eve. I used a 4lb standing roast. As suggested, I cooked it at 500 for 20 mins. Let sit in the oven for 60 minutes. It was a little too rare for us, I will let it sit in the oven for an additional 15-30 next time. I used jar minced garlic rather than fresh and at least a half cup of dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Excellent ideas in this recipe. I cooked the roast 5 min per pound at 500 and then left it sit for 90 min in the oven. I didn't have any mustard, so rather than the seasonings, I used Montreal Steak seasoning. I made a basic au jus to finish the slices to peoples liking. it was a hit. There was very little leftover. What was left, was so tender, it could be eaten cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States