Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Great recipe. It was a hit with my teens and boyfriend. This was a run thru for Christmas eve. I used a 4lb standing roast. As suggested, I cooked it at 500 for 20 mins. Let sit in the oven for 60 minutes. It was a little too rare for us, I will let it sit in the oven for an additional 15-30 next time. I used jar minced garlic rather than fresh and at least a half cup of dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Excellent ideas in this recipe. I cooked the roast 5 min per pound at 500 and then left it sit for 90 min in the oven. I didn't have any mustard, so rather than the seasonings, I used Montreal Steak seasoning. I made a basic au jus to finish the slices to peoples liking. it was a hit. There was very little leftover. What was left, was so tender, it could be eaten cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was so good my family has requested it for Christmas dinner this year. Using a meat thermometer is the key. I did not use mustard I used garlic and steakhouse pepper blend mixed with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I highly recommend this recipe. It was my first time cooking prime rib and I was very apprehensive about leaving it alone in the oven. I followed the 5 min. per pound rule for my 5 pound roast (25 min. at 500 degrees) and then turned off the over and left it for 60 min. instead of 90. Also, I did mine in a cast iron roasting pot, lid on, in a regular oven. I also tented it in tinfoil and let it rest for 15 min. after removing it from the oven. It came out medium/well put was super moist. Perfectly cooked. If you want it a bit more rare, maybe cut down the time a bit more. An excellent and easy way to cook prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Made it exactly as shown...turned out PERFECTLY!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is an awesome recipe! We have made this recipe for 3 years and everytime it is perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Excellent! Thank you. My Prime Rib Dinner was a huge success with the meat a perfect medium rare, edge to edge. Now I can make this "dining out" meal at home for those special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe! This was my first stab at prime rib, and the cooking time was *just right* I used a bone-in cut, and was generous with seasoning. Key is to let it sit in the oven--tough to do! Also, have an oven thermometer so you are sure of oven's temp. It helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I haven't yet had a taste of the rib roast to rate it, but I'm rating anyway. I followed the 5 lb review. OMG, it smells good, but I wasn't warned about the smoke! My whole kitchen and family room are smoked! My hubby's comment was "at least it smells good." Will post more later. Has anyone else had a problem with the smoke or did I do something wrong? So far, because of the smoke, my rating is as shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States