Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Very easy and tasty. Made this for Thanksgiving because we do not like turkey. The only complaint was the price of the prime rib, which is not the recipe's fault. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
My family loves this recipe. I do recomend adjusting the temperature for a smaller/larger roast to 500 degrees for 5 min/lb. Ex. 5 lb roast is 25 min at 500 degrees. Also make sure your roast is room temp to start, and, make sure you don't have an old oven that might leak heat to fast or this recipe won't work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I tried this recipe for our Christmas dinner last year, it was a HUGE success. The prime rib turned out so delicious and juicy. I had bought 15lbs, rather than the 10 lbs which the recipe call for. I calculated leaving the meat for additional 5 minutes for each pound; so for my 15 pounder, I let it cook for an additional 25 minutes. It turned out great. Hopefully it's a tip you all can use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
It was a waste of a very expensive cut of meat. It was overdone and lacked the flavour that everyone has raved about. I think I will go back to my old way of doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIJESSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I made this for the first time on Christmas Eve 2002. I put it in the preheated oven just as we left home for Xmas Eve services and man did the house smell amazing when we returned home. Instead of salt and pepper, I use 'Montreal Steak Seasoning' which you can find at Costco. I believe McCormicks makes it so you might find it in your local grocery store where the spices are. Be sure to cover with foil before placing in oven. Otherwise it gets smokey and can set off your smoke alarms...I speak from experience as I have made this at least 6 times in the past 6 months...usually when we entertain. It gets rave reviews. I flew some of my husbands friends in from New York for his 40th birthday in March...every single 'man' wanted to go home with this recipe to have their spouse/significant other make it. It really is SO simple. Also, if you have a local Meat store/butcher shop, get the rib from them, it's only about $1 more per pound and really does make a difference. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I thought this recipe was great until I tried the recipe for the Garlic Prime Rib on this site. You will be amazed with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Way undercooked. I used a 7.5 pound roast at 500 for 45 minutes and 2.5 hors in oven turned off. I like rare, but it was still cold inside. On the plus side, it was delicious. We cut off the outside, and recooked the rest. Will try again with longer cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I scaled this down for 3 people using a 5 lb. roast and had plenty left over. Everyone wanted medium to medium well so I cooked it at 400 degrees for 50 minutes, turned off oven for 45 minutes and it turned out well. Personally, I'm not a big mustard fan so I would use a little less and I also might used garlic powder mixed in with the salt and pepper. I felt that slivered garlic flavored the immediate surrounding meat too strongly - plus everyone ended up picking out the garlic anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I was skeptical about the mustard, but it gave the roast a wonderful, subtle flavor... this recipe is definitely a keeper. Super easy to assemble and bake, too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made this for Christmas dinner and it turned out wonderful! I was a little nervous that it wouldn't turn out and didn't add quite as much Dijon as it called for, but next time would add the entire 1/2 cup for more flavor. I did need to lower the oven temperature to 450-475 due to smoking at the higher temp, but it came out just perfect in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States