Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Tried this and I will never make it another way. I didn't use the dijon because it just didn't sound right - just kept it simple with salt and pepper. I had a 5lb roast that wasn't quite up to room temperature so I I put it in at 450 until it reached about 70 degrees on the inside. Then I turned it up to 500 and cooked it for 45 minutes and shut it off. I had the probe inside so I knew exactly when to take it out but it was about a 45 minutes later. Amazing! Perfectly medium. Medium rare would be easy though with the temp probe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made this recipe for friends the other night and it turned out excellent. Everyone loved it including my husband who doesn't usually like prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was just about perfect for a 7 lb roast. I added 15 minutes in a 300 oven after 90 minutes because we like it a little more done, and it came out a perfect medium. Also, it takes around 6 hours for a large piece of meat to come to room temperature from the fridge. If you forget to put it out early (like I did), bring it to room temp before cooking by double bagging the roast in ziplock bags and submerge it in warm water for 15 or 20 minutes. You can check the internal temp with a meat thermometer to make sure it's around 70 degrees before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitrinka
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We read many of the comments before trying this and finally settled on convection roast at 400 degrees for 45 minutes for a 4.79 lb. roast. Then we let it sit in the still hot but turned off oven for 45 minutes. It was PERFECT. Medium rare in the middle and both ends were medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We have used this recipe for years and Love it! The only thing we do different is to coat the outside with a layer of chopped fresh garlic because we are garlic freaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
It was great. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
A perfect NO FAIL ALWAYS PERFECT recipe. Just make sure not to peek in the oven. I use a digital thermometer though to make sure the center is rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt at Prime Rib & let me tell you, the whole family thought I was a pro... mom, dad, aunt, cousins, sisters, etc.. Great recipe and very easy! I didn't measure everything out, but followed the instructions as they were written. A meat thermometer is KEY to making your prime rib right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Tasted good however it was way undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I would rate this a three only because I listened to others and used Montreal Seasoning on the outside and unfortunately it made the pan drippings way too salty to make a decent gravy. It cooked pretty much perfectly...I had a 15# boneless prime rib. I covered it and cooked it for 85 mins then left it in the oven for another 90 mins. The ends were pretty well done but the middle was rare and perfect. May try a long, slow roast next year w/ plain old salt and pepper so I can get a nice gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States