Prime Rib Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This soup was excellent and an superb way to use up our Christmas Eve prime rib. My family of 7 loved it and I loved the idea of not wasting a single ounce of an expensive prime rib (including the bones). Made as directed, but next year I will try simmering the bones in my crockpot overnight and then the next day doing the reduction. This might save on time because like another reviewer stated this took longer time period to reduce than the recipe called for. Since there were no measurements on the amount of water to cover on the bones, this time would vary person to person, depending on how much water they used. I simmered for about 2.5 hours on the stove and then finally ended up just boiling to reduce. Hence my idea to use my crockpot next time then either do a boiled reduction or do a simmering reduction. Thanks Emily! It was a hit with all 5 of my kids, and it was a hit with me because I finally have an awesome recipe to us with prime rib leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Loved this recipe. I had a 12 pound prime rib so I had 5 bones. I upped the recipe accordingly. I also knew I would want more meat so I cleaned and cubed a steak sized portion to add to the ribs so we could have more meat in the dish. So I guess I made it a stew/soup. Yes it is time consuming, but what good soup or stew isn't. Because I heavily season my prime rib roasts, I waited until after I added all the cooked ingredients before adding any salt or pepper. I did not add mushrooms because even though I love everything else, that is one thing this cook doesn't eat! lol I also chopped about three quarters of a bunch of green onions and threw them in about 5 min before it were finished to get some of the flavor into the soup. Bottom line is... the flavors were great, it was worth the effort and I look forward to making it again after my next prime rib. Thank you Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I used the pressure cooker (20 min) for the bones. Added quick cook barley and it was an amazing soup that disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added a few things as I always do. Worcestershire sauce, flour, half and half,carrots, garlic ,onion rosemary and thyme. Thickened it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was great! I added some more veggies, used two cans of beef broth and a some steak seasoning. A great use of left-over prime rib when you just can't eat another sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Simple and Delicious, I made a 3 rib Prime Rib roast for my Son and I for Christmas Dinner and then made this soup. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I'm making this right now and so far, it smells delicious. Question - what is with the nutritional information?? I really can't see that it would be 1800 calories for ANY soup, let alone a broth based soup that you've skimmed the fat off of?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hironda
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My husband and son just raved about this soup! The only thing I found was, it took too long for it to cook down. Leave plenty of time to cook this! Worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
VERY good soup! I did start with sauteing chopped onion and celery in butter, then added the prime rib, beef stock; added carrots and two potatoes. I already had rosemary, garlic & thyme coated on my prime rib from the day before, so that added wonderful flavor. Thanks Emily! This was so good and a great way to use up every bit of that expensive Christmas prime rib! KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A little time consuming, but it's worth it! I used barley instead of the potato, just because that's what I had handy. Came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States