Prime Rib Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Simple and Delicious, I made a 3 rib Prime Rib roast for my Son and I for Christmas Dinner and then made this soup. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very good all around! The entire family loved it ever our 5 year old. It is a recipe we are keeping in the recipe book! Thanks you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Loved this recipe. I had a 12 pound prime rib so I had 5 bones. I upped the recipe accordingly. I also knew I would want more meat so I cleaned and cubed a steak sized portion to add to the ribs so we could have more meat in the dish. So I guess I made it a stew/soup. Yes it is time consuming, but what good soup or stew isn't. Because I heavily season my prime rib roasts, I waited until after I added all the cooked ingredients before adding any salt or pepper. I did not add mushrooms because even though I love everything else, that is one thing this cook doesn't eat! lol I also chopped about three quarters of a bunch of green onions and threw them in about 5 min before it were finished to get some of the flavor into the soup. Bottom line is... the flavors were great, it was worth the effort and I look forward to making it again after my next prime rib. Thank you Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I used the pressure cooker (20 min) for the bones. Added quick cook barley and it was an amazing soup that disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I'm making this right now and so far, it smells delicious. Question - what is with the nutritional information?? I really can't see that it would be 1800 calories for ANY soup, let alone a broth based soup that you've skimmed the fat off of?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hironda
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
excellent, don't rush it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLR8R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipes is great and is a great`way to use up left over standing rib roast. I followed as written and added some extra pieces of meat. It came out a bit salty. It may have been the brand on broth I use so I would advise waiting to season with salt until half way through final simmer, then add if necessary. Overall this was fantastic and I am psyched I found something good to do with left over roast. I finally feel like I used everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I liked it a lot. My 18 year old son, however, went nuts. He ate everything besides the small bowl I had. I asked him how many stars he'd give it out of five and he said, "twelve constellations". This recipe rocks. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This soup was excellent and an superb way to use up our Christmas Eve prime rib. My family of 7 loved it and I loved the idea of not wasting a single ounce of an expensive prime rib (including the bones). Made as directed, but next year I will try simmering the bones in my crockpot overnight and then the next day doing the reduction. This might save on time because like another reviewer stated this took longer time period to reduce than the recipe called for. Since there were no measurements on the amount of water to cover on the bones, this time would vary person to person, depending on how much water they used. I simmered for about 2.5 hours on the stove and then finally ended up just boiling to reduce. Hence my idea to use my crockpot next time then either do a boiled reduction or do a simmering reduction. Thanks Emily! It was a hit with all 5 of my kids, and it was a hit with me because I finally have an awesome recipe to us with prime rib leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A little time consuming, but it's worth it! I used barley instead of the potato, just because that's what I had handy. Came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States