Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
Made this for Christmas dinner. It was the only disappointment of the evening. I believe this could be very good if used on a less-expensive cut of meat. As it was, not enough of the original meat flavors came through; the marinade was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I served this for Christmas Eve dinner. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I used a tsp. ground ginger. It turned out wonderful. I poured the pan drippings through a metal sieve to remove the marmalade (and other) chunks, then mixed it with a package of instant gravy mix and the gravy was incredible too. My husband said this was the best prime rib he has ever tasted! My in-laws really seemed to enjoy it. My son, who was tired and cranky that evening, refused to eat everything else on his plate, but he ate all his meat!! I have never made roast beef before, but this recipe was really easy and very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
WOW!!! Having lost my Father this past July, I knew it would be my job to take on the Christmas dinner. I found this recipe and the rest is history. All 23 people were amazed at how wonderful this roast tasted. My Dad would of been so proud of me..:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I made a couple small changes to this recipe, just due to what I had at home. Frozen OJ concentrate instead of marmalade, chili oil instead of pepper sauce, and white wine instead of beer. This roast recipe is FANTASTIC! Even my 2 year old annihilated it. I added some halved new red potatoes and thick sliced carrots the last half hour, sprinkled with a little rosemary. I was hoping for next day lunch leftovers, but there weren't any. DEFINATELY making this part of our monthly menu. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
The amount of liquid this recipe adds to the baking pan was not enough in my oven. It began to burn before the roast was done. I suggested adding all of the marinade and a half of cup of water to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I prepared this recipe for my parents on Thanksgiving and was very impressed with the outcome. This was the first time I was responsible for our Holiday Dinner, and I was somewhat nervous about the results. This turned out great! ***The only change I would recommend is either lessen the amount of time in the oven OR lower the over temperature.*** I was hoping for MedRare, but got Med-MedWell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe and the marinade that cooks with the roast makes for outstanding gravy. I wanted something a little different for a prime rib special dinner and this one got raves from kids and adults alike! Definitely will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I made this for Christmas dinner, doubling the recipe and cooking it to 150 degrees for medium. It got rave reviews, then we made French Dip sandwiches the next day with the leftovers. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
What a bizarre combination for a marinade. I have served it for the past two x-mas dinners. Absolutely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I was extremely nervous about Christmas dinner being my responsability...when my husband asked for Prime Rib, I didn't even know where to begin. I found this recipe and tried it because it sounded interesting. This was sooooo good. My husband was quite impressed, as was my mom who normally does the cooking. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States