Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Even though this roast was delicious, it wasn't very flavorful. My marinate burned in the pan. I would suggest adding a lot more liquid as the sugars in the marinate tend to burn the juices. The meat tasted good but the flavors were not intense. I will make it again except next time I will add more liquid during cooking. The cooking times are not very exact. I had to cook mine a lot longer (I only had a 5 lb. roast), so the meat was a little dry. It will still make fabulous leftovers for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was a very good roast, but the flavor wasn't nearly as strong as I had anticipated. I made a 4 lb roast, but used the same measurments and there was almost no flavor after marinating for 2 days. When I cooked it, I added 2 cups of water and basted it several times throughout cooking. Though the roast itself didn't taste much like the marinade, after straining the "au jus", it tasted great after being dipped in that! For a 4 lb roast, don't change the cooking times at all (my mistake!!). I would certainly make this again. Oh - and I would suggest getting a prime rib roast without a bone if you can. I'm terrible at carvinig and the bone made it a challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCKELLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is the most awesome roast. We made it for Thanksgiving and will definitely make it our tradition. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
What a bizarre combination for a marinade. I have served it for the past two x-mas dinners. Absolutely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This was my very first Prime Rib Roast and it was DIVINE...extremely tender...just fell apart..my caterer uncle was VERY impressed by it! Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COMFORTKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Great recipe! Perfect for my Easter dinner. Served with garlic mashed potatoes (flavored with wasabi), broccoli casserole and asparagus with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was pretty good. We followed the directions, but did not cook it long enough as we had some pieces that were still rare. The outside of the roast was well done, and was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
The amount of liquid this recipe adds to the baking pan was not enough in my oven. It began to burn before the roast was done. I suggested adding all of the marinade and a half of cup of water to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I made this for Christmas dinner, my first prime rib and everyone just loved it! We are going to keep this one in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
The flavor was just "okay," not what I've come to appreciate and love in restaurant cooked prime rib. I had a five pound rib, much smaller than the eight pounder called for in the recipe--and much of the meat was overcooked--my bad. My meat thermometer stopped working, so I was forced to "guess" on doneness. I hate it when that happens. One criticism: Be more specific when writing recipes folks. Inexperienced cooks like me need the details. For example, "poke holes all over the meat with a two-pronged fork" is way too general. I poked too long, and unfortunately, the meat turned out a bit shredded. I'm certain this recipe would have turned out much better with a better cut of meat (mine was actually two pieces tied together), a meat thermometer and fewer holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States