Pride Of Iowa Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My recipe is much the same, and it's our favorite cookie. I, too, use butter instead of shortening. The only other thing I do different is I add a bunch more oatmeal. Can't say an amount really--a handful or two, sometimes a tad more. I add till it looks like almost to much oatmeal, but it never is!!! We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Really bland and just unappealing dough and fat without much flavor. My children adore cookies but they left these alone. Sorry- I made them with so much enthusiasm that it was truly a disappointment. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I make a Pride of Iowa cookie, but with different amounts of oats and flour. I also use butter and everyone I make this for loves it (unless they don't like coconut which I can't understand!). I agree that you should not bake these till they look firm or they are too hard. I freeze on cookie sheets then keep them in the freezer. When I am expecting company, I place cookies on a cookie sheet and leave in the refrigerator to thaw. One of my all-time favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
The cookie itself deserves three stars - it's an average, decent oatmeal cookie. However, the listing of ingredients and the directions are so poorly written that the recipe's rating has to be docked for it. The listing of ingredients is out of order, and the method incorrect. Novice or beginner bakers will not know that the traditionally recognized method is to cream the sugar and shortening or butter together, add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda, then add to your creamed mixture just until thoroughly mixed. Stir in the oatmeal, coconut and walnuts last. (I also added a cup of dried cranberries which was a nice, fall addition) I almost forgot to include the white sugar just because the list of ingredients was so out of order and mixed up! Finally, I made my cookies larger than called for, placed them on UN-greased cookie sheets and still only had to bake them for 12 minutes. I can't imagine how overbaked these would have been if teaspoonful-sized cookies were baked for 15 minutes. The cookies themselves were ok, tho' a little on the dry side - I think reducing the flour to 1-1/2 cups would be a good modification to the recipe. I cannot recommend this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
these are the cookies of my childhood and I love them still. Now, I make them with my children. It's a great recipe for lots of helping hands as there are lots of things to measure. These are worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is the best cookie recipe in the world. It can take lots of tinkering and still be great. It's fine without the coconut or walnuts. My husband loves it with raisins; my daughter loves it with chocolate chips. I substitute whole wheat flour for health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
As a proud Iowa native, this recipe certainly caught my eye! I took one of the suggestions and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and the cookies were amazing. Next up: I think I'll use them for ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made a recipe very similar to this one, and it turned out very well. Instead of shortening I used butter, and I switched the vanilla and walnuts for almond extract and finely chopped almonds. Like someone else mentioned, I added the eggs before the dry ingredients and the nuts/oats/coconut after the dry ingredients (folded them in). I hope that helps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
These cookies may look plain (no chips or chunks) but they are delicious! The coconut and walnut work well together, and the oatmeal makes them chewy and yummy. (I only baked mine until they were just turning golden, not the full time.) A new favorite! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These cookies are great! I am addicted to them. I used half butter and half shortening. Crispy outside, semi chewy inside. Try these and enjoy the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States